Turner Prize 2013 shortlist revealed

A varied selection of artists will compete for this year's prestigious art prize

Tate Britain today announced the shortlist for the Turner Prize 2013, naming the four artists who will be exhibiting at Ebrington in Derry-Londonderry as part of the UK City of Culture 2013, the first time that the prize will be awarded outside of England.


Laure Prouvost, who creates works and atmospheric installations using film, performance and story-telling, has been nominated for her new work Wantee, which forms part of Tate Britain’s Schwitters in Britain, and for a two-part installation for the Max Mara Art Prize for Women.

Tino Sehgal receives a nomination for his performance pieces This Variation (at Documenta XIII festival) and These Associations at Tate Modern. His works involve live encounter and interaction with the audience; they cannot be photographed or filmed, making them unique to the space and time in which they exist.

David Shrigley has been nominated for David Shrigley: Brain Activity – his first solo exhibition at Hayward Gallery – comprising not only his well-loved drawings but also photography, sculpture and film, offering his wry, humorous take on the absurdities of human relationships.

Lynette Yiadom-Boakye has been shortlisted for her exhibition at Chisenhale Gallery, Extracts and Verses, figurative paintings drawn from fictitious characters, alluding to traditional European portraiture but asking questions about representation and public spectatorship.

Last year the prize was won by Elizabeth Price, a surprise for many as focus had been on fellow nominees Spartacus Chetwynd (who resides in a south London nudist colony) and Paul Noble.

Price’s winning piece, a video installation named THE WOOLWORTHS CHOIR OF 1979 2012, combines archives of text, image and sound to create an installation drifting between social history and fantasy.

The Turner Prize award is £40,000 with £25,000 going to the winner and £5,000 each for the other shortlisted artists, and is awarded to a British artist under fifty for an outstanding exhibition or other presentation of their work.

Notable (and often controversial) past nominees/winners include Tracey Emin and Damien Hirst, sculptors Anish Kapoor and Anthony Gormley and filmmaker Steve McQueen.


Named after the painter J.M.W Turner, the award was established in 1984 and is organized by Tate Britain. The winner will be announced at a ceremony on Monday 2 December 2013.