Doctor Who, Andrew Scott and Sir Ian McKellen up for BBC Audio Drama Awards 2015

Maxine Peake, Marcus Brigstocke and Toby Jones also scoop nominations for their work in audio drama


Doctor Who, Andrew Scott and Sir Ian McKellen are among those who’ve made the long-list for the 2015 BBC Audio Drama Awards.


The awards pay tribute to the cultural importance of audio drama with actors, writers, producers, sound designers and more recognised in the nominations.

Among those in the running are Sherlock star Andrew Scott and Edge of Tomorrow actress Charlotte Riley for their portrayal of two expert liars who meet in an ocular prosthetics clinic in Slipping. The drama itself is also up for Best Original Single Drama.

Silk star Maxine Peake has earned a nomination for her part in Pact, with Game of Thrones actress Ellie Kendrick giving her a run for her money in the Best Actress Award for How to Say Goodbye Properly.

Rob Brydon (Gavin & Stacey), Julian Rhind-Tutt (Green Wing) and Ian McKellen (Lord of the Rings/ X-Men) go head to head for Best Actor, while Toby Jones’s role as Mr Collins in Pride and Prejudice sees him vying for Best Supporting Actor. 

Doctor Who 50th anniversary adventure The Light at the End – which featured all the surviving actors to play the Time Lord, up to and including eighth Doctor Paul McGann – is among the nominees for Best Online/Non-Broadcast Audio drama.

There’s stiff competition in the comedy award genre with Marcus Brigstocke up against Milton Jones and John Finnemore for Best Live Comedy.

Radio 4’s First World War drama series Home Front has been nominated twice, as has The Divine Comedy starring John Hurt.

Alison Hindell, Head of Audio Drama says, “’I’m thrilled to see the range and breadth of audio drama productions available in the UK reflected in the long list and to see the contribution of so many hugely talented writers, actors and producers acknowledged in this way. Good luck to everyone as the judges make their decisions.”

Finalists will be announced on Tuesday 6th January 2015, with the winners revealed at a ceremony to be held on Sunday 1st February.

The BBC Audio Drama Awards long-list for each category is:

Best Actor in an Audio Drama

David Schofield in The Old Man and the Sea 

Julian Rhind-Tutt in The Real Trial of Oscar Wilde

Rob Brydon in His Master’s Voice 

Ian McKellen in Eugenie Grandet  

Andrew Scott in Slipping             

Jamie Parker in Hamlet 

Michael Bertenshaw in Home Front 

Best Actress in an Audio Drama

Maxine Peake in Pact 

Anastasia Hille in Secrets of the Small Hours 

Francesca Annis in Golden Years: Friedrichstrasse 

Ellie Kendrick in How to Say Goodbye Properly 

Aisling Loftus in Educator 

Charlotte Riley in Slipping 

Heather Craney in Ambiguous Loss 

Best Supporting Actor or Actress in an Audio Drama

Toby Jones in Pride and Prejudice 

Sian Phillips in Hide the Moon 

Neil Pearson in The Boy at the Back 

Henry Goodman in Bretton Woods 

Joel MacCormack in various titles

Janine Duvitski in Tittle Tattle 

Michelle Terry in Educator 

Best Audio Drama (Original Single)

Men Who Sleep in Cars by Michael Symmons Roberts

Fearless by Lee Halpin & Gemma Newby

Everyday Time Machines by Al Smith

Everything, Nothing: Harvey Keitel by Pejk Malinovski

Slipping by Claudine Toutongi

The Octopus by Anita Sullivan

Best Audio Drama (Adaptation)

The Divine Comedy: Inferno by Dante, dramatized by Stephen Wyatt

Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep? by Philip K.Dick dramatized by Jonathan Holloway

The Seventh Test by Vikas Swarup, dramatized by Ayeesha Menon & John Dryden

Frankenstein by Mary Shelley, dramatized by Lucy Catherine

Porcelain: The Trial for the Killing of Sophie Lancaster  dramatized from court transcripts by Ian Keshaw

Blink adapted from his own stageplay by Phil Porter

Come to Grief adapted from her own stageplay by Hannah Vincent

Best Audio Drama (Series or Serial)

Ambiguous Loss: No Man’s Land by Michael Butt

The Seventh Test by Vikas Swarup, dramatized by Ayeesha Menon & John Dryden

A Kidnapping by Andy Mulligan

Demon Brother by Matt Broughton

Holding On To You by D.L.Weller

McLevy by David Ashton

The Oresteia by Aeschylus, in a version by Simon Scardifield

Best Scripted Comedy Drama

Tim Key’s Late Night Poetry Programme by Tim Key

Believe It: Victor by Jon Canter

Lunch by Marcy Kahan

I’m a Believer by Jon Canter 

Shedtown by Tony Pitts

Best Scripted Comedy with a Live Audience (script award)

John Finnemore’s Souvenir Programme by John Finnemore

Sketchorama presented by Thom Tuck

Thanks a Lot, Milton Jones! by Milton Jones, James Cary & Dan Evans

The Brig Society by Marcus Brigstocke, Jeremy Salsby, Toby Davies, Nick Doody, Steve Punt and Dan Tetsell

Trodd En Bratt Say “Well Done You” by Ruth Bratt and Lucy Trodd

Best Use of Sound in an Audio Drama

The Exorcist

The Divine Comedy: Inferno

The Illustrated Man

A Kidnapping

Ghosts of Heathrow

Legend of the Holyrood Vampires

The Boy at the Back

Best Online Only Audio Drama

Doctor Who: The Light at the End

Jago and Litefoot: Encore of the Scorchies

Hood: The Scribe of Sherwood

The Child

Survivors: Revelation

The Manbuycow Podcast 2.9 – Treason

Best Debut Performance In An Audio Drama

Alex Jordan in Frankenstein 

Jade Matthew in A Kidnapping

Vera Chok in Dostoevsky and the Chickens

Lucy Hutchinson in Home Front

Sam Hattersley in Magpie


Amybeth McNulty in North of Riga