The National Television Awards 2014 full shortlist

Benedict Cumberbatch, Coronation Street, Idris Elba, Educating Yorkshire... It's time to pick your favourites for the 2014 NTAs

The National Television Awards are winging their way back to our screens and the best bit? You can now cast your vote!


From choosing your number one detective in our very own Radio Times TV detective award to the best newcomer on the box, check out the shortlist and back your favourites…

Radio Times TV Detective: 

1. Olivia Colman, Broadchurch

2. Benedict Cumberbatch, Sherlock

3. Idris Elba, Luther

4. Suranne Jones, Scott & Bailey

5. David Tennant, Broadchurch

6. Bradley Walsh, Law & Order: UK

Talent show 

1. Britain’s Got Talent

2. Dancing on Ice

3. Strictly Come Dancing

4. The Voice UK

5. The X Factor

Serial drama

1. Coronation Street 

2. EastEnders

3. Emmerdale

4. Hollyoaks


1. Derek

2. Miranda

3. Mrs Brown’s Boys

4. The Big Bang Theory


1. Broadchurch

2. Call the Midwife

3. Doctor Who

4. Downton Abbey

Drama performance

1. Martin Clunes, Doc Martin

2. Miranda Hart, Call the Midwife

3. Maggie Smith, Downton Abbey

4. Matt Smith, Doctor Who

Factual entertainment 

1. An Idiot Abroad

2. Paul O’Grady: For the Love of Dogs

3. The Great British Bake Off

4. Top Gear


1. Pointless

2. The Chase

3. The Jeremy Kyle Show

4. This Morning


1. Marc Baylis, Coronation Street

2. Khali Best, EastEnders

3. Michelle Hardwick, Emmerdale

4. Anna Passey, Hollyoaks

Serial drama performance 

1. Julie Hesmondhalgh, Coronation Street

2. Michelle Keegan, Coronation Street

3. David Neilson, Coronation Street

4. Jessie Wallace, EastEnders

Documentary series 

1. Educating Yorkshire

2. Inside Death Row with Trevor McDonald

3. Paul O’Grady’s Working Britain

4. Penguins – Spy in the Huddle

Entertainment presenter 

1. Alan Carr

2. Ant & Dec

3. Keith Lemon

4. Graham Norton

5. Dermot O’Leary

Entertainment programme

1. Ant and Dec’s Saturday Night Takeaway

2. Celebrity Juice

3. I’m a Celebrity… Get Me Out of Here!

4. The Graham Norton Show

How to vote

Vote for your favourites by phone on 0901 888 2014 

Calls cost no more than 26p per minute plus no more than 15p connection charge from BT landlines; other networks may be higher and mobiles will be considerably more. Calls should last no longer than seven minutes.

Or vote free online at

New votes will be added to those already submitted in the first round of voting. 

The winners will be revealed at the National Television Awards, hosted by Dermot O’Leary, live from The 02 London on Wednesday 22 January on ITV.

Book tickets: To experience the excitement of the night, book your tickets by calling 08448 24 48 24* or visit

*Calls to The 02 0844 number are charged at standard rate of 5.105 pence per minute + VAT at all times from BT landlines. Calls from other operators and mobiles will vary. Voting closes at 12 noon on Wednesday 22 January 2014. Votes received outside of these times will not be counted by may still be charged. A touchtone phone is required for phone voting. Please ensure you have the bill payer’s permission before calling. Restrictions on multiple voting apply. For full terms and conditions go to