Lenny Henry, Michaela Coel and Suranne Jones triumph at the Royal Television Society Awards 2016

The Lost Honour of Christopher Jefferies, Catastrophe, No Offence and Ant & Dec were also among the winners at the London ceremony


Doctor Foster, Catastrophe and Emmerdale were among the big winners at the Royal Television Society Programme Awards 2016.


The BBC1 drama’s lead Suranne Jones was crowned Best Female Actor for her portrayal of a woman who suspects her husband is having an affair, while Anthony Hopkins took home the prize for Best Male Actor in BBC2 drama The Dresser.

ITV drama The Lost Honour of Christopher Jefferies, starring Jason Watkins, won two awards: Best Writer for screenwriter Peter Morgan and Best Drama Serial.

Lenny Henry was awarded an RTS Fellowship and presented with the Judges Award in recognition of his work in increasing minority representation in the television industry.

Accepting the award, he said, “I’m truly hopeful that this award is a pan-industry acknowledgement that diversity must be at the heart of our industry now and most importantly in the future.”

Michaela Coel was awarded Breakthrough Performance of the Year as well as Best Comedy Performance for Channel 4 series Chewing Gum, while Sharon Horgan and Rob Delaney’s Channel 4 comedy Catastrophe won Best Scripted Comedy and Comedy Writing.

In the soaps category, Emmerdale triumphed over rivals Coronation Street and EastEnders to win Best Soap and Continuing Drama, while the Entertainment Performance award went to Ant & Dec.

Channel 4’s comedy drama No Offence beat Humans and The Last Kingdom as Best Drama Series. 

David Coulthard took home best sports presenter for his role in the BBC’s F1 coverage, although he is now part of Channel 4’s presenting team.

RTS Awards 2016 winners in full

Actor – Female

Winner: Suranne Jones – Doctor Foster, Drama Republic for BBC One

Actor – Male

Winner: Anthony Hopkins – The Dresser, Playground Entertainment for BBC Two


Winner: Handmade, BBC Scotland Arts Production for BBC Four


Winner: Michaela Coel – Chewing Gum, Retort Television for E4

Children’s Programme

Winner: My Life: I Am Leo, Nine Lives Media for CBBC

Comedy Performance

Winner: Michaela Coel – Chewing Gum, Retort Television for E4

Daytime Programme

Winner: Judge Rinder ITV Studios for ITV 

Documentary Series

Winner: The Romanians Are Coming – Keo Films for Channel 4

Drama Serial

Winner: The Lost Honour of Christopher Jefferies Carnival Films for ITV

Drama Series

Winner: No Offence Abbott Vision for Channel 4


Winner: Release the Hounds Gogglebox Entertainment for ITV2

Entertainment Performance

Winner: Anthony McPartlin and Declan Donnelly


Holocaust: Night Will Fall Spring Films for Channel 4

Live Event

VE Day 70: The Nation Remembers BBC Events Production for BBC One

Popular, Factual and Features

DIY SOS: Homes For Veterans BBC Features Production for BBC One


Reggie Yates – Reggie Yates’ Extreme Russia Sundog Pictures for BBC Three

Science and Natural History

Oak Tree: Nature’s Greatest Survivor Furnace TV for BBC Four

Scripted Comedy

Catastrophe Avalon Television for Channel 4

Single Documentary

Storyville: India’s Daughter Assassin Films for BBC Four

Single Drama

Coalition Cuba Pictures for Channel 4

Soap and Continuing Drama

Emmerdale ITV Studios for ITV

Sports Presenter, Commentator or Pundit

David Coulthard BBC Sport for BBC One

Sports Programme

Champions League Goals Show BT Sport

Monday Night Football Sky Sports

The Ashes Sky Sports

Writer – Comedy

Rob Delaney and Sharon Horgan – Catastrophe Avalon Television for Channel 4

Writer – Drama

Peter Morgan – The Lost Honour of Christopher Jefferies Carnival Films for ITV

Judges’ Award

Lenny Henry


Lifetime Achievement Award

Joan Bakewell