Olivia Colman, Jamie Dornan, Gogglebox and Chiwetel Ejiofor win at 2014 BPG Awards

Colman wins for Broadchurch alongside writer Chris Chibnall, with Ejiofor adding to his Bafta best actor award for his part in BBC2's Dancing On the Edge at the Broadcasting Press Guild Awards

ITV drama series Broadchurch has triumphed again in a major TV awards ceremony with writer Chris Chibnall and Olivia Colman both picking up Broadcasting Press Guild (BPG) awards today.


Chibnall won the BPG writer award while Colman was named best actress for her role as DS Ellie Miller in the hit show at today’s ceremony at London’s Theatre Royal Drury Lane.

Other winners today included Chiwetel Ejiofor, BAFTA winner and Oscar nominee for Twelve Years A Slave, who takes home the BPG’s best actor award for his role as Louis Lester in BBC2’s Dancing on the Edge.

The BPG breakthrough award, given to someone attaining a new level of success in 2013, went to Jamie Dornan for his performance as the serial-killing grief counsellor Paul Spector in BBC2’s The Fall. Dornan, who will star in the movie version of Fifty Shades of Grey, is currently filming a second series of The Fall.

Channel 4 won all three awards for factual television at the awards, the only major TV prize-giving adjudicated by professional journalists who write about television. Educating Yorkshire won the award for best documentary series and the BPG award for best factual entertainment went to Gogglebox. Syria: Across the Lines was voted best single documentary.

BBC2 World War One drama The Wipers Times, written by Ian Hislop and Nick Newman and starring Julian Rhind-Tutt and Michael Palin, was voted best single drama. BBC1’s Strictly Come Dancing was named best entertainment programme, and the prize is expected to be collected in person by its presenter Sir Bruce Forsyth at today’s Discovery Channel-sponsored lunch.

Sky Television won two awards. Its drama series The Tunnel, based on the Scandinavian series The Bridge, was voted best multichannel programme. Sky also won the innovation award, for changing the face of broadcasting with multichannel satellite TV, subscription and the first 24-hour news, sport and arts channels.

Just days after chairing the Europe debate between Nigel Farage and Nick Clegg, Nick Ferrari of London radio station LBC was voted radio broadcaster of the year. The Call Clegg programme hosted by Ferrari, in which the deputy prime minister takes calls from listeners, has become a crucial portal for political junkies.

Radio 4’s Tweet of the Day, a series of 235 short programmes about British birds and their songs, was voted radio programme of the year. Its presenters include Sir David Attenborough, Michaela Strachan, Chris Packwood, Kate Humble and Bill Oddie.

The Harvey Lee award for an outstanding contribution to broadcasting went to the writer Andrew Davies for his work on more BPG award-winning programmes than anyone else in the Guild’s 40-year history.

These include the adaptations of House of Cards, Pride & Prejudice and Bleak House.

The full list of BPG TV and Radio Awards winners is:

Best Single Drama

The Wipers Times (BBC Two)

A Trademark Films Production for the BBC & Northern Ireland Screen in association with Goldcrest

Best Drama Series


A Kudos & Imaginary Friends production for ITV

Best Single Documentary

Syria: Across the Lines

A Quicksilver Media production for Channel 4 & WGBH’s Frontline

Best Documentary Series

Educating Yorkshire

A Twofour Broadcast Ltd. production for Channel 4

Best Entertainment/Comedy

Strictly Come Dancing

A BBC In-house Entertainment production for BBC One

Best Multichannel Programme

The Tunnel

A co-production of Kudos & Shine France Films in association with Filmlance for Sky Atlantic HD & CANAL+                                                                                                                                                        

Best Factual Entertainment


A Studio Lambert Production for Channel 4

Radio Broadcaster of the Year

The Nick Ferrari Breakfast Show on LBC

Radio Programme of the Year

Tweet of the Day

A BBC Natural History Unit production for BBC Radio 4

Best Actor

Chiwetel Ejiofor – Dancing on the Edge

A Ruby Film and Television & ITV Studios Global Entertainment co-production, in association with Endgame Entertainment & Playground, Creative England & LipSync Productions for BBC Two

Best Actress

Olivia Colman – Broadchurch

A Kudos & Imaginary Friends production for ITV                                                                             

Best Writer                                                                                                                                

Chris Chibnall – Broadchurch

A Kudos & Imaginary Friends production for ITV

Breakthrough Award

Jamie Dornan – The Fall

A Fables production in association with Artists Studio for BBC Two

Innovation Award

Sky Television – for 25 years of innovation

Harvey Lee Award

Andrew Davies