Sherlock wins the Radio Times Audience Award at the Bafta TV Awards 2015

The BBC1 drama – starring Benedict Cumberbatch and Martin Freeman – beat EastEnders, Game of Thrones, Strictly, Bake Off, Cilla and The Missing to claim the coveted viewer-voted prize

Sherlock has seen off stiff competition to be crowned the winner of the Radio Times Audience Award at the 2015 House of Fraser British Academy Television Awards. 


The BBC1 drama – which stars Benedict Cumberbatch and Martin Freeman – was voted for by tens of thousands of viewers on during April and early May in the only Bafta category to be decided by the public.

Sherlock beat EastEnders, Strictly Come Dancing, The Missing, Cilla, The Great British Bake Off and 2013 Audience Award winner Game of Thrones to the title in a closely fought race.

“We never take the continuing success of Sherlock remotely for granted,” said Steven Moffat, who collected the award alongside Amanda Abbington, Sue Vertue and Beryl Vertue. “Sherlock Holmes and Doctor Watson can’t be here tonight. Martin Freeman is looking after the kids and Benedict Cumberbatch is looking after his pregnant wife, because that’s what real men do. Never forget that.”

The third series of Sherlock aired in early 2014, kicking off with a New Year’s Day episode solving the long-standing mystery of how Sherlock survived his dramatic plunge in The Reichenbach Fall. The instalment pulled in 12 million viewers, making it the most-watched BBC drama for over a decade. 

Also introducing Amanda Abbington’s Mary Morstan and The Killing star Lars Mikkelson’s evil Charles Augustus Magnussen, the three-episode series finished with the surprise return of Andrew Scott’s arch-villain Jim Moriarty – a shock development which sent the internet into a frenzy. Theories have abounded ever since, especially when the cast reunited earlier this year to film a one-off special expected to broadcast around Christmas or in early 2016.

Co-created by Steven Moffat and Mark Gatiss, Sherlock has enjoyed plenty of Bafta success since the series first aired in 2010, including a win for best drama series and best supporting actor gongs for Martin Freeman (2011) and Andrew Scott (2012). Benedict Cumberbatch is also nominated for best actor at this year’s ceremony.

Sherlock is the third winner of the Radio Times Audience Award – last year saw Doctor Who: The Day of the Doctor named the recipient with Game of Thrones picking up the prize in 2013.

Read more: 

Sherlock’s Mark Gatiss on his Doctor Who devotion, Basil Brush trauma and refusal to go on Strictly


Sherlock Prom is (sort of) happening!