The 68th annual Eurovision Song Contest is currently underway, with the first 15 acts set to perform during the first semi-final on Tuesday 7th May, followed by the latter 16 acts on Thursday 9th May.


There will be non-stop coverage over on BBC One and iPlayer as well as on the airwaves on BBC Radio 2 and BBC Sounds, with Graham Norton, Rylan Clark, Scott Mills and Richie Anderson leading the coverage live for UK viewers.

If that still hasn't met all your cheesy pop competition needs, then look no further than this comprehensive list of winners from years gone by.

Starting in 1956, past acts to have been triumphant in the competition include ABBA, Bucks Fizz and last year's winner Loreen.

Read on for all the past Eurovision winners from 1956 up to last year.

More like this

Every Eurovision winner by year

1956 - Switzerland, 'Refrain' performed by Lys Assia

1957 - Netherlands, 'Net als toen' performed by Corry Brokken

1958 - France, 'Dors mon amour' performed by Andre Claveau

1959 - Netherlands, 'Een Beetje' performed by Teddy Scholten

1960 - France, 'Tom Pillibi' performed by Jacqueline Boyer

1961 - Luxembourg, 'Nous les amoureux' performed by Jean-Claude Pascal

1962 - France, 'Un premier amour' performed by Isabelle Aubret

1963 - Denmark, 'Dansevise' performed by Grethe and Jorgen Ingmann

1964 - Italy, 'Non ho l'eta' performed by Gigliola Cinquetti

1965 - Luxembourg, 'Poupee de cire, poupée de son' performed by France Gall

1966 - Austria, 'Merci Cherie' performed by Udo Juergens

1967 - UK, 'Puppet on a String' performed by Sandie Shaw

1968 - Spain, 'La, la, la' performed by Massiel

1969 - 4-way tie! Spain, 'Vivo cantando' performed by Salome, UK, 'Boom Bang-a-Bang' performed by Lulu, Netherlands, 'De troubadour' performed by Lenny Kuhr, France, 'Un jour, un enfant' performed by Frida Boccara

1970 - Ireland, 'All Kinds of Everything' performed by Dana

1971 - Monaco, 'Un banc, un arbre, une rue' performed by Séverine

1972 - Luxembourg, 'Apres toi' performed by Vicky Leandros

1973 - Luxembourg, 'Tu te reconnaitras' performed by Anne-Marie David

1974 - Sweden, 'Waterloo' performed by ABBA

Swedish pop group Abba, performs during the the Eurovision Song Contest 1974 (Getty/FC)
Swedish pop group Abba, performs during the the Eurovision Song Contest 1974 (Getty/FC)

1975 -Netherlands, 'Ding-a-Dong' performed by Teach-In

1976 - UK, 'Save Your Kisses For Me' performed by Brotherhood of Man

1977 - France, 'L'oiseau et l'enfant' performed by Marie Myriam

1978 - Israel, 'A-Ba-Ni-Bi' performed by Izhar Cohen and the Alphabeta

1979 - Israel, 'Hallelujah' performed by Milk and Honey

1980 - Ireland, 'What's Another Year' performed by Johnny Logan

1981 - UK, 'Making Your Mind Up', performed by Bucks Fizz

1982 - Germany, 'Ein bisschen Frieden' performed by Nicole

1983 - Luxembourg, 'Si la vie est cadeau' performed by Corinne Hermes

1984 - Sweden, 'Diggi-Loo Diggi-Ley' performed by Herreys

1985 - Norway, 'La det swinge' performed by Bobbysocks!

1986 - Belgium, 'J'aime la vie' performed by Sandra Kim

1987 - Ireland, 'Hold Me Now' performed by Johnny Logan

1988 - Switzerland, 'Ne partez pas sans moi' performed by Celine Dion

1989 - Yugoslavia, 'Rock Me' performed by Riva

1990 - Italy, 'Insieme: 1992' performed by Toto Cutugno

1991 - Sweden, 'Fangad av en stormvind' performed by Carola

1992 - Ireland, 'Why Me?' performed by Linda Martin

1993 - Ireland, 'In Your Eyes' performed by Niamh Kavanagh

1994 - Ireland, 'Rock 'n' Roll Kids' performed by Paul Harrington and Charlie McGettigan

1995 - Norway, 'Nocturne' performed by Secret Garden

1996 - Ireland, 'The Voice' performed by Eimear Quinn

1997 - UK, 'Love Shine a Light' performed by Katrina and the Waves

1998 - Israel, 'Diva' performed by Dana International

1999 - Sweden, 'Take Me To Your Heaven' performed by Charlotte Nilsson

2000 - Denmark, 'Fly on the Wings of Love' performed by the Olsen Brothers

2001 - Estonia, 'Everybody' performed by Tanal Padar, Dave Benton and 2XL

2002 - Latvia, 'I Wanna' by Marie N

2003 - Turkey, 'Everyway That I Can' performed by Sertab Erener

2004 - Ukraine, 'Wild Dances' performed by Rusiana

2005 - Greece, 'My Number One' performed by Helena Paparizou

2006 - Finland, 'Hard Rock Hallelujah' performed by Lordi

2007 - Serbia, 'Molitva' performed by Marija Serifovic

2008 - Russia, 'Believe' performed by Dima Bilan

2009 - Norway, 'Fairytale' performed by Alexander Rybak

2010 - Germany, 'Satellite' performed by Lena

2011 - Azerbaijan, 'Running Scared' performed by Ell & Nikki

2012 - Sweden, 'Euphoria' performed by Loreen

2013 - Denmark, 'Only Teardrops' performed by Emmelie de Forest

2014 - Austria, 'Rise Like A Phoenix' performed by Conchita Wurst

2015 - Sweden 'Heroes' performed by Mans Zelmerlow

2016 - Ukraine, '1944' performed by Jamala

2017 - Portugal, 'Amar pelos dois' performed by Salvador Sobral

2018 - Israel, 'Toy' performed by Netta

2019 - Netherlands, 'Arcade' performed by Duncan Laurence

2020 - The competition was cancelled due to the COVID-19 pandemic

2021 - Italy, 'Zitti e Buoni' performed by Måneskin

2022 - Ukraine, 'Stefania' performed by Kalush Orchestra

2023 - Sweden, 'Tattoo' performed by Loreen

The Eurovision Song Contest has faced significant criticism over its decision to allow Israel to compete in this year’s competition in light of the current situation in Gaza and the Middle East, with some fans and members of the music industry calling for a boycott of the ceremony.

Noel Curran – director general of the European Broadcasting Union (EBU), which organises Eurovision – has said in a statement: "We understand the concerns and deeply held views around the current conflict in the Middle East. We can’t fail to be moved by the profound suffering of all those caught up in this terrible war.

"However, the Eurovision Song Contest is a non-political music event and a competition between public service broadcasters who are members of the EBU. It is not a contest between governments.

"As a member-led organisation, our governing bodies – the Eurovision Song Contest Reference Group and the Executive Board – did review the participants list for the 2024 Contest and agreed that the Israeli public broadcaster KAN met all the competition rules for this year and can participate as it has for the past 50 years."

The artists taking part in this year's contest have also faced backlash for not pulling out of the ceremony, including the UK's act Olly Alexander, who signed a joint statement alongside other entrants explaining they "do not feel comfortable being silent".

"It is important to us to stand in solidarity with the oppressed and communicate our heartfelt wish for peace, an immediate and lasting ceasefire, and the safe return of all hostages," the statement read. "We stand united against all forms of hate, including anti-Semitism and Islamophobia.

"We firmly believe in the unifying power of music, enabling people to transcend differences and foster meaningful conversations and connections. We feel that it is our duty to create and uphold this space, with a strong hope that it will inspire greater compassion and empathy."

The Eurovision 2024 live final will air on BBC One and BBC iPlayer on Saturday 11th May at 8pm.

You can also check out the full list of Eurovision winners and how many times the UK has won Eurovision.


Check out more of our Entertainment coverage or visit our TV Guide and Streaming Guide to find out what else is on. For more from the biggest stars in TV, listen to The Radio Times Podcast.