Channel 4 wins Channel of the Year at Edinburgh TV Awards

Channel 4 win big at the GEITF TV Awards 2014, with Educating Yorkshire also taking home TV moment of the year

Channel 4 dominated the Edinburgh TV Awards at this year’s Guardian International Television Festival. Hosted by John Bishop, the ceremony saw the channel take home awards for Best Channel, Programme Innovation and TV Moment of the Year.


Educating Yorkshire won TV Moment of the Year, for the emotional scene in which a pupil overcame his stammer to deliver a speech to his class. The Murder Trial, which filmed a British murder case with remote cameras, received the award for Programme Innovation.

David Abraham, the chief executive of Channel 4, also delivered this year’s prestigious MacTaggart memorial lecture. In his speech, he warned that British television was at risk of being taken over by US companies.

“Winning Channel of the Year is the icing on the cake after an amazing twelve months for the channel and a fitting tribute to all the indies who have worked with us to deliver a raft of award winning shows,” said the channel’s chief creative officer Jay Hunt.

The award and nominations in full:

Programme Innovation Award
Winner: The Murder Trial (Channel 4)
Him & Her: The Wedding (BBC3)
Live from Space (Channel 4)
Our Gay Wedding: The Musical (Channel 4)
Pesky Blinders (BBC2)

Producer/Director Debut Award
Marcelle Mettelsiefen for Children on the Frontline

Production Company of the Year
Winner: Big Talk Productions
Love Productions
So Television

Commissioner of the Year
Richard Klein (ITV)

The Network & Ones to Watch Programme Choice Award
Winner: Game of Thrones
Breaking Bad
Happy Valley
Orange is the New Black

TV Moment of the Year
Winner: Educating Yorkshire – Musharaf conquering his speech impediment.
Coronation Street – Hayley’s death.
The Eurovision Song Contest – Conchita Wurst’s entry for Austria
Happy Valley – [Spoiler] The beating of Catherine Cawood
Gay marriage – The vows
Newsnight – Jeremy Paxman interviewing Russell Brand


Channel of the Year
Winner: Channel 4
BBC Three
Sky Atlantic