Good Omens: first listen to Terry Pratchett and Neil Gaiman’s radio drama

ARTICLE CONTINUES BELOW
Good Omens: first listen to Terry Pratchett and Neil Gaiman’s radio drama

By

For fans of Terry Pratchett and Neil Gaiman’s comic fantasy novel Good Omens, it’ll be a long two-week wait until its Radio 4 adaptation begins on 22 December – but we’re letting you peek under the Christmas tree early.

RadioTimes.com can reveal some of the Good Omens cast speaking in character, including Merlin’s Colin Morgan as Newt Pulsifer and future Call the Midwife star Charlotte Ritchie as Anathema Device. 

Written in 1990, Good Omens follows the attempts of an angel and a demon to save the world from the antichrist, but all is not as it seems thanks to a bureaucratic mix-up. Soon, the fate of humanity is left to a gang of young children, a trainee witchfinder and a collection of garbled flashcards. To paraphrase Colin Morgan’s Newt, below – something weird is DEFINITELY happening.

Well, two people who might have an idea are suave demon Crowley and stuffy angel Aziraphale – played by Peter Serafinowicz and Mark Heap as the closest of frenemies.

They’ll get help from Charlotte Ritchie’s Anathema Device, who has a collection of prophecies from an ancestor designed to help prevent the end times – as well as some special skills of her own…

We also get a look at Jim Norton, Paterson Joseph and Harry Lloyd playing three of the four horsemen of the apocalypse – with a bit of a twist. 

The Radio 4 drama will also star Sherlock’s Louise Brealey, Clive Russell, Phil Davis among others, with a cameo from the novel’s co-writers Gaiman and Pratchett. Gaiman also helped develop the script with director Dirk Maggs, who adapted Gaiman’s novel Neverwhere for Radio 4 last year with a cast including James McAvoy, Natalie Dormer and Benedict Cumberbatch.

You can see photos of the Good Omens cast below, and learn more about the programme here.

Good Omens will begin on Radio 4 on Monday 22nd December at 11.00pm

ADVERTISEMENT
We use cookies to improve your experience of our website. Cookies perform functions like recognising you each time you visit and delivering advertising messages that are relevant to you. Read more here