Everything you need to know about the Question Time Election special

David Cameron, Ed Miliband and Nick Clegg will all face questions from the studio audience in a special edition chaired by David Dimbleby


There’s just one week to go until the General Election, and while this won’t be the head-to-head battle between Ed Miliband and David Cameron the Labour leader’s been crying out for, tonight’s Question Time special will see the two of them on the same show.


When is it?

Thursday 30 April, 8-9.30pm BBC1, live from Leeds Town Hall.

How can I watch?

Live on BBC1, Sky News and BBC iPlayer. You can also listen in on BBC Radio 5 Live.

Who’s taking part?

Conservative leader David Cameron, Labour leader Ed Miliband and Lib Dem leader Nick Clegg. The debate will be chaired by regular Question Time presenter David Dimbleby.

Nicola Sturgeon, Leanne Wood and Nigel Farage will each appear in special half-hour debate programmes of their own in Scotland, Wales and England. The BBC News channel will show highlights of all programmes at 9.30pm on Thursday and at 8.30am on Friday.

How does it work?

Each leader will separately face 30 minutes of questioning from the studio audience. Like a standard Question Time, questions can be submitted in advance or on the night. Cameron will go first, Miliband second and Clegg third.

The make-up of the studio audience has been criticised on both sides, but the BBC has defended how it has chosen who can attend. The Corporation claimed that “each party leader faces the same prospect – an audience where one in four supports him, but where the majority does not”.


25 per cent of the audience are Tory voters, 25 per cent say they will vote Labour, 25 per cent Lib Dem, 15 per cent favour “other parties” and 10 per cent are undecided.