LEGO Star Wars: The Skywalker Saga is right around the corner now and the brick-based pop culture adaptation from Traveller's Tales and Warner Bros Games is coming from a galaxy far, far away to a console near you this very week!


We got to enjoy some time with a hands-on preview of the game and we can happily say that LEGO Star Wars: The Skywalker Saga looks set to be the most ambitious title in the series to date - good luck working your way through every character that you can play as as there are hundreds of them!

And you'll even get to explore open world areas this time, which are stuffed with collectables and Easter eggs to go with the gorgeous visuals and the smooth gameplay that it has to offer.

While we wait the last few days for it to come out, read on for everything you need to know about LEGO Star Wars: The Skywalker Saga.

In the meantime, why not get your fix of Star Wars through The Book of Boba Fett or The Mandalorian TV series on Disney Plus. Alternatively, check out some of the best Star Wars gifts and merchandise or the best new LEGO sets on offer to celebrate the epic franchise.

LEGO Star Wars The Skywalker Saga release date

The LEGO Star Wars: The Skywalker Saga release date will take place on Tuesday 5th April 2022, the developers from Traveller's Tales have confirmed. The launch of the game is very much upon us at this stage, then!

What time does The LEGO Star Wars: The Skywalker Saga unlock?

If you have opted to go down the digital route with picking up the game, then you will want to know what time the game unlocks for you to play.

For PlayStation and Xbox users, you should be able to start your adventure at midnight in your local region. Nintendo Switch players may have to wait a little longer with the times as it may not unlock until 8pm, while those on PC may have to wait until 6pm.

Read more on LEGO Star Wars:

Which films are in LEGO Star Wars: The Skywalker Saga?

The LEGO games have been popular for some time now and this looks to be a release to remember. This new game comprises nine different episodes, one from each of the Skywalker movies that have been released.

The term 'Skywalker Saga' generally applies to the three main trilogies of movies, so you can expect to play through LEGO versions of A Phantom Menace, Attack of the Clones, Revenge of the Sith, A New Hope, The Empire Strikes Back, Return of the Jedi, The Force Awakens, The Last Jedi and The Rise of Skywalker in this game.

And if you, for example, do not fancy playing through a reminder of Attack of the Clones, then the good news is that you can play the trilogies in any order that you like – so you could skip the prequels altogether and go straight to the original trilogy or the sequels.

More like this

DLC packs will be used to add characters from other corners of Star Wars lore, including the cast of Solo: A Star Wars Story and The Mandalorian. But as far as we know, those spin-off stories will not be playable in the game.

Which platforms and consoles can play LEGO Star Wars: The Skywalker Saga?

In terms of platforms, LEGO Star Wars: The Skywalker Saga will be available on PC, Nintendo Switch, PS4, PS5, Xbox One and Xbox Series X/S at launch.

You should be able to find somewhere to play it, then, unless you're devoutly committed to mobile devices or streaming services.

LEGO Star Wars: The Skywalker Saga trailer

If you're looking for another taste ahead of the LEGO Star Wars: The Skywalker Saga release date on 5th April, check out the promo video below.

We're sure you'll agree that this LEGO Star Wars: The Skywalker Saga trailer makes the game look like a real treat for the fans.

Can I pre-order LEGO Star Wars: The Skywalker Saga?

Yes, you can pre-order both the normal and deluxe editions of LEGO Star Wars: The Skywalker Saga right here:


Xbox One/Series X/Series S

Nintendo Switch

What is the Deluxe Edition of LEGO Star Wars: The Skywalker Saga?

The Deluxe Edition includes a copy of the game, as well as the following extras:

  • Box art featuring an unmasked Darth Vader beneath the slipcase
  • Exclusive Luke Skywalker with Blue Milk Minifigure
  • Character Collection Bundle

The Character Collection Bundle includes six character packs, which add characters from other areas of the Star Wars franchise such as Rogue One, Solo, The Mandalorian, and The Bad Batch.

And if you pre-order the Deluxe Edition from GAME, it also comes with an exclusive Han Solo in Carbonite steelbook:

LEGO Star Wars: The Skywalker Saga characters

LEGO Star Wars: The Skywalker Saga will have a whopping 300 playable characters – if you can think of a character from any of the Star Wars trilogies, they are probably in this game.

Some of these will be duplicate characters wearing different outfits, though.

For example, the tweet below shows just how many different version of Anakin Skywalker will be in the game.

Follow Radio Times Gaming on Twitter for all the latest insights. Or if you're looking for something to watch, see our TV Guide.

Visit our video game release schedule for all upcoming games on consoles. Swing by our hubs for more Gaming and Technology news.


The latest issue of Radio Times is on sale now – subscribe now to get each issue delivered to your door. For more from the biggest stars in TV, listen to the Radio Times podcast with Jane Garvey.