The soundtrack in Marvel’s 2018 Black Panther movie was hailed nearly as much as the visuals and so naturally, the upcoming sequel Black Panther: Wakanda Forever has a lot to live up to.


Fortunately, Rihanna is lending Marvel her talents for the upcoming film.

Rihanna's first new single in six years will feature on the soundtrack for the upcoming sequel and was released on Friday (28th October 2022), two weeks before the film’s theatrical release on 11 November.

The singer confirmed the news on Twitter, writing the title of the song Lift Me Up and the date "10.28.22" along with a 14-second clip.

The video was then released on YouTube.

More like this

Black Panther: Wakanda Forever from director Ryan Coogler sees the likes of Shuri (Letitia Wright), Nakia (Lupita Nyong'o), Okoye (Danai Gurira), M'Baku (Winston Duke) and Queen Ramonda (Angela Bassett) facing an all-new threat in the form of underwater monarch Namor, played by Tenoch Huerta.

A trailer was dropped at the Marvel panel at Comic-Con, treating fans to a glimpse of the soundtrack to come.

The emotional footage made its debut at San Diego Comic-Con 2022 and sees Wakanda trying to forge a new path following the sad passing of its king, T'Challa, who was portrayed by the late Chadwick Boseman who died in 2020.

The footage shows that emotional, violent and powerful scenes await us when the film is released, while also teasing the pulsating soundtrack to come.

The trailer boasts one almighty mash-up, but what songs are on the Black Panther: Wakanda Forever soundtrack? Read on to find out.

Black Panther 2 soundtrack: What songs are in Wakanda Forever?

Namora, Namor and Attuma in Black Panther: Wakanda Forever.
Namora, Namor and Attuma in Black Panther: Wakanda Forever Marvel

The Black Panther: Wakanda Forever – Music From and Inspired By soundtrack will be released on 4th November 2022.

The tracklisting is as follows

  1. Lift Me Up - Rihanna
  2. Love & Loyalty (Believe) - DBN Gogo, Sino Msolo, Kamo Mphela, Young Stunna and Busiswa
  3. Alone Performed - Burna Boy
  4. No Woman No Cry - Tems
  5. Árboles Bajo El Mar - Vivir Quintana and Mare Advertencia
  6. Con La Brisa - Foudeqush and Ludwig Göransson
  7. La Vida - Snow Tha Product featuring E-40
  8. Interlude - Stormzy
  9. Coming Back For You - Fireboy DML
  10. They Want It, But No - Tobe Nwigwe and Fat Nwigwe
  11. Laayli' kuxa'ano'one - ADN Maya Colectivo: Pat Boy, Yaalen K'uj, All Mayan Winik
  12. Limoncello - OG DAYV featuring Future
  13. Anya Mmiri - CKay featuring PinkPantheress
  14. Wake Up - Bloody Civilian featuring Rema
  15. Pantera - Alemán featuring Rema
  16. Jele - DBN Gogo, Sino Msolo, Kamo Mphela, Young Stunna and Busiswa
  17. Inframundo - Blue Rojo
  18. No Digas Mi Nombre - calle x vida and Foudeqush
  19. Mi Pueblo - Guadalupe de Jesús Chan Poot

The album is available to purchase on Amazon and Amazon Music.

The following songs had already been released by Marvel as part of the EP titled 'Black Panther: Wakanda Forever Prologue'.

  • No Woman No Cry - Tems, Marvel
  • A Body, A Coffin - Amaarae, Marvel
  • Soy - Santa Fe Klan, Marvel
  • Lift Me Up - Rihanna, Tems, Marvel

No Woman No Cry is a cover of the reggae song by Bob Marley and the Wailers.

The film's soundtrack is being composed and produced by Ludwig Göransson, who worked on the first Black Panther soundtrack.

The Black Panther (2018) soundtrack was also curated by hip-hop legend Kendrick Lamar.

Angela Bassett as Queen Ramonda in Black Panther: Wakanda Forever
Angela Bassett as Queen Ramonda in Black Panther: Wakanda Forever. Marvel Studios

Meanwhile, speaking on her collaboration with Rihanna, Tems said in a statement: “After speaking with Ryan and hearing his direction for the film and the song, I wanted to write something that portrays a warm embrace from all the people that I’ve lost in my life. I tried to imagine what it would feel like if I could sing to them now and express how much I miss them.

"Rihanna has been an inspiration to me so hearing her convey this song is a great honour.”

A second song from Rihanna, titled Born Again, is expected to be heard in the film itself.

What songs are in the Black Panther: Wakanda Forever trailer?

The trailer for Black Panther: Wakanda Forever features a mash-up of two songs.

The footage begins soundtracked by Tems's No Woman No Cry before transitioning into Alright by Kendrick Lamar.

The tracks in the trailer are, therefore:

  • No Woman No Cry - Tems, Marvel
  • Alright - Kendrick Lamar

As soon as more songs for the film are announced, we shall update this page.

If you're looking for more to watch, check out our TV guide. Know a Marvel fan? Don't miss our round-up of Marvel gifts.


The latest issue of Radio Times is on sale now – subscribe now to get each issue delivered to your door. For more from the biggest stars in TV, listen to the Radio Times View From My Sofa podcast.