It's time to catch up with a beloved spin-off of Doctor Who.


Earlier in 2022, Doctor Who spin-off The Sarah Jane Adventures celebrated the 15th anniversary of its first episode.

The series – which was aimed at slightly younger audiences than the main show – starred the sadly departed Elisabeth Sladen as the eponymous investigative journalist, as she helped keep the planet safe from extraterrestrial intruders along with some younger accomplices.

Sarah Jane and her young accomplices also had some crossover moments with other Doctor Who figures including companion Jo Jones (formerly Grant) and even the Doctor himself!

With that in mind, you might be wondering where the series is currently available to watch – read on for everything you need to know.

More like this

How to watch The Sarah Jane Adventures

The Sarah Jane Adventures is now available in its entirety on BBC iPlayer.

The series was re-added on Tuesday 29th November 2022 and will be available for over a year.

Sharing the news on his Instagram, Russell T Davies penned: "BACK ON iPLAYER! The Sarah Jane Adventures. I love this show ♥️ @bbc @bbciplayer @bbcdoctorwho".

Heartstopper star Joe Locke commented on the post: "My childhood".

The show is also available on BritBox, alongside every episode of classic Doctor Who adventures.

You can sign up now for a seven-day free trial for BritBox, while there are also free trials available for the Prime Video and BritBox add-on.

Alternatively, it's possible to buy the series from a range of Premium VOD services, including Amazon Prime Video, Google Play, and iTunes, with the cost per season varying between £5.49 and £10.49.

Is The Sarah Jane Adventures on Netflix?

No – although the show was once able to watch on Netflix, The Sarah Jane Adventures is not currently available on the streamer.

Is The Sarah Jane Adventures on BBC iPlayer?

Yes, The Sarah Jane Adventures is available in its entirely on BBC iPlayer.

The Sarah Jane Adventures on DVD

If you'd like to own physical copies of the series, you can buy The Sarah Jane Adventures: The Complete Collection DVD boxset on Amazon.

The boxset features every episode of the show in addition to some extra features and is available for the price of £36.43 at the time of writing.

How many episodes are there of The Sarah Jane Adventures?

The cast of The Sarah Jane Adventures.
The cast of The Sarah Jane Adventures BBC

There are 53 episodes, 27 serials and an additional short film to The Sarah Jane Adventures.

The serials are as follows.


Invasion of the Bane

Series 1

  1. Revenge of the Slitheen
  2. Eye of the Gorgon
  3. Warriors of Kudlak
  4. Whatever happened to Sarah Jane?
  5. The Lost Boy

Series 2

  1. The Last Sontaran
  2. The Day of the Clown
  3. Secrets of the Stars
  4. The Mark of the Berseker
  5. The Temptation of Sarah Jane Smith
  6. Enemy of the Bane

Short film

From Raxacoricofallapatorius with Love

Series 3

  1. Prisoner of the Judoon
  2. The Mad Woman in the Attic
  3. The Wedding of Sarah Jane Smith
  4. The Eternity Trap
  5. Mona Lisa's Revenge
  6. The Gift

Series 4

  1. The Nightmare Man
  2. The Vault of Secrets
  3. Death of the Doctor
  4. The Empty Planet
  5. Lost in Time
  6. Goodbye, Sarah Jane Smith

Series 5

  1. Sky
  2. The Curse of Clyde Langer
  3. The Man Who Never Was

The Sarah Jane Adventures is available to stream on BritBox. For more, check out our dedicated Sci-Fi page or our full TV Guide.


The latest issue of Radio Times magazine is on sale now – subscribe now and get the next 12 issues for only £1. For more from the biggest stars in TV, listen to the Radio Times podcast with Jane Garvey.