Dawn French to star as a village gossip in new ITV drama Glass Houses

The new series focuses on the toxic effects of indiscreet words and also stars Mark Heap, Julie Hesmondhalgh, Vicki Pepperdine and Patrick Robinson

Dawn French (Getty, TL)

The Vicar of Dibley star and Comic Relief veteran Dawn French is to play a dangerous village gossip in new ITV drama Glass Houses.

Advertisement

Her character Maggie Connors is a busybody who gives an indiscreet interview to a local radio interviewer that sets in train a series of dark happenings in the fictional town of Thurlbury.

Green Wing star Mark Heap plays her headmaster husband Peter in the ITV series set in the tight-knit coastal community.

Other notable residents include Maggie’s best friend Jill (played by Broadcachurch and Coronation Street star Julie Hesmondhalgh) and school secretary Karen (played by Vicki Pepperdine). A part-time resident is the handsome Marcus (played by Casualty star Patrick Robinson), who rents a cottage to write his best-selling novels.

Dawn French said, “It’s such a good story with a fantastic funny, touching script by Mark Brotherhood.  Let me at it!”

Advertisement

Saskia Schuster, ITV’s Comedy Controller, added, “Glass Houses is a new drama in the tradition of Doc Martin and The Darling Buds Of May, full of warmth and intriguing characters. This new series will embrace its beautiful idyllic South Devon setting as we meet the villagers of Thurlbury and find out how an innocent afternoon spent indiscreetly gossiping has a domino effect on the whole village.“