Oscars 2014: nominees and winners in full

See the winners in every category at the 86th Academy Awards

Oscars 2014: nominees and winners in full
Written By

Best Picture

American Hustle - Charles Roven, Richard Suckle, Megan Ellison, and Jonathan Gordon, Producer

Captain Phillips - Scott Rudin, Dana Brunetti and Michael De Luca, Producers

Dallas Buyers Club - Robbie Brenner and Rachel Winter, Producer

Gravity - Alfonso Cuarón and David Heyman, Producer

Her - Megan Ellison, Spike Jonze and Vincent Landay, Producer

Nebraska - Albert Berger and Ron Yerxa, Producers

Philomena - Gabrielle Tana, Steve Coogan and Tracey Seaward, Producer

WINNER - 12 Years a Slave - Brad Pitt, Dede Gardner, Jeremy Kleiner, Steve McQueen and Anthony Katagas, Producer

The Wolf of Wall Street - Nominees to be determined

Best Director

American Hustle – David O Russell

WINNER - Gravity – Alfonso Cuarón

Nebraska – Alexander Payne

12 Years a Slave – Steve McQueen

The Wolf of Wall Street – Martin Scorsese

Best Actor in a Leading Role

Christian Bale – American Hustle

Bruce Dern – Nebraska

Leonardo DiCaprio – The Wolf of Wall Street

Chiwetel Ejiofor – 12 Years a Slave

WINNER - Matthew McConaughey – Dallas Buyers Club

Best Actress in a Leading Role

Amy Adams – American Hustle

WINNER - Cate Blanchett – Blue Jasmine

Sandra Bullock – Gravity

Judi Dench – Philomena

Meryl Streep – August: Osage County

Best Actor in a Supporting Role

Barkhad Abdi – Captain Phillips

Bradley Cooper – American Hustle

Michael Fassbender – 12 Years a Slave

Jonah Hill – The Wolf of Wall Street

WINNER - Jared Leto – Dallas Buyers Club

Best Actress in a Supporting Role

Sally Hawkins – Blue Jasmine

Jennifer Lawrence – American Hustle

WINNER - Lupita Nyong'o – 12 Years a Slave

Julia Roberts – August: Osage County

June Squibb – Nebraska

Animated Feature Film

The Croods - Chris Sanders, Kirk DeMicco and Kristine Belson

Despicable Me 2 - Chris Renaud, Pierre Coffin and Chris Meledandri

Ernest & Celestine - Benjamin Renner and Didier Brunner

WINNER - Frozen - Chris Buck, Jennifer Lee and Peter Del Vecho

The Wind Rises - Hayao Miyazaki and Toshio Suzuki

Best Original Screenplay

American Hustle - Written by Eric Warren Singer and David O Russell

Blue Jasmine - Written by Woody Allen

Dallas Buyers Club - Written by Craig Borten & Melisa Wallack

WINNER - Her - Written by Spike Jonze

Nebraska - Written by Bob Nelson

Best Adapted Screenplay

Before Midnight - Written by Richard Linklater, Julie Delpy, Ethan Hawke

Captain Phillips - Screenplay by Billy Ray

Philomena - Screenplay by Steve Coogan and Jeff Pope

WINNER - 12 Years a Slave - Screenplay by John Ridley

The Wolf of Wall Street - Screenplay by Terence Winter

Visual effects

WINNER - Gravity - Tim Webber, Chris Lawrence, Dave Shirk and Neil Corbould

The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug - Joe Letteri, Eric Saindon, David Clayton and Eric Reynolds

Iron Man 3 - Christopher Townsend, Guy Williams, Erik Nash and Dan Sudick

The Lone Ranger - Tim Alexander, Gary Brozenich, Edson Williams and John Frazier

Star Trek Into Darkness - Roger Guyett, Patrick Tubach, Ben Grossmann and Burt Dalton


The Grandmaster - Philippe Le Sourd

WINNER - Gravity - Emmanuel Lubezki

Inside Llewyn Davis - Bruno Delbonnel

Nebraska - Phedon Papamichael

Prisoners - Roger A Deakins

Film Editing

American Hustle - Jay Cassidy, Crispin Struthers and Alan Baumgarten

Captain Phillips - Christopher Rouse

Dallas Buyers Club - John Mac McMurphy and Martin Pensa

WINNER - Gravity - Alfonso Cuarón and Mark Sanger

12 Years a Slave - Joe Walker

Production Design

American Hustle - Judy Becker (Production Design); Heather Loeffler (Set Decoration)

Gravity - Andy Nicholson (Production Design); Rosie Goodwin and Joanne Woollard (Set Decoration)

WINNER - The Great Gatsby - Catherine Martin (Production Design); Beverley Dunn (Set Decoration)

Her - KK Barrett (Production Design); Gene Serdena (Set Decoration)

12 Years a Slave - Adam Stockhausen (Production Design); Alice Baker (Set Decoration)

Foreign Language Film

The Broken Circle Breakdown - Belgium

WINNER - The Great Beauty - Italy

The Hunt - Denmark

The Missing Picture - Cambodia

Omar - Palestine

Music – Original Score

The Book Thief - John Williams

WINNER - Gravity - Steven Price

Her - William Butler and Owen Pallett

Philomena - Alexandre Desplat

Saving Mr Banks - Thomas Newman

Music – Original Song

"Alone Yet Not Alone" from Alone Yet Not Alone - Music by Bruce Broughton; Lyric by Dennis Spiegel

"Happy" from Despicable Me 2 - Music and Lyric by Pharrell Williams

"Let it Go" from Frozen - Music and Lyric by Kristen Anderson-Lopez and Robert Lopez

"The Moon Song" from Her - Music by Karen O; Lyric by Karen O and Spike Jonze

"Ordinary Love" from Mandela: Long Walk to Freedom - Music by Paul Hewson, Dave Evans, Adam Clayton and Larry Mullen; Lyric by Paul Hewson

Sound Editing

All Is Lost - Steve Boeddeker and Richard Hymns

Captain Phillips - Oliver Tarney

WINNER - Gravity - Glenn Freemantle

The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug - Brent Burge

Lone Survivor - Wylie Stateman

Sound Mixing

Captain Phillips - Chris Burdon, Mark Taylor, Mike Prestwood Smith and Chris Munro

WINNER - Gravity - Skip Lievsay, Niv Adiri, Christopher Benstead and Chris Munro

The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug - Christopher Boyes, Michael Hedges, Michael Semanick and Tony Johnson

Inside Llewyn Davis - Skip Lievsay, Greg Orloff and Peter F. Kurland

Lone Survivor - Andy Koyama, Beau Borders and David Brownlow

Costume Design

American Hustle - Michael Wilkinson

The Grandmaster - William Chang Suk Ping

WINNER - The Great Gatsby - Catherine Martin

The Invisible Woman - Michael O'Connor

12 Years a Slave - Patricia Norris

Makeup and Hairstyling

WINNER - Dallas Buyers Club - Adruitha Lee and Robin Mathews

Jackass Presents: Bad Grandpa - Stephen Prouty

The Lone Ranger - Joel Harlow and Gloria Pasqua-Casny

Documentary Feature

The Act of Killing - Joshua Oppenheimer and Signe Byrge Sørensen

Cutie and the Boxer - Zachary Heinzerling and Lydia Dean Pilcher

Dirty Wars - Richard Rowley and Jeremy Scahill

The Square - Jehane Noujaim and Karim Amer

WINNER - 20 Feet from Stardom - Nominees to be determined

Documentary Short Subject

CaveDigger - Jeffrey Karoff

Facing Fear - Jason Cohen

Karama Has No Walls - Sara Ishaq

WINNER - The Lady in Number 6: Music Saved My Life - Malcolm Clarke and Nicholas Reed

Prison Terminal: The Last Days of Private Jack Hall - Edgar Barens

Short Film – Live Action

Aquel No Era Yo (That Wasn't Me) - Esteban Crespo

Avant Que De Tout Perdre (Just Before Losing Everything) - Xavier Legrand and Alexandre Gavras

WINNER - Helium - Anders Walter and Kim Magnusson

Pitääkö Mun Kaikki Hoitaa? (Do I Have to Take Care of Everything?) - Selma Vilhunen and Kirsikka Saari

The Voorman Problem - Mark Gill and Baldwin Li

Short Film – Animated

Feral - Daniel Sousa and Dan Golden

Get a Horse! - Lauren MacMullan and Dorothy McKim

WINNER - Mr Hublot - Laurent Witz and Alexandre Espigares

Possessions - Shuhei Morita

Room on the Broom - Max Lang and Jan Lachauer