Novak Djokovic can pull off the unthinkable this summer as Wimbledon kicks off at SW19.


The Serbian superstar has wrapped his arms around the men's singles trophy on seven occasions following his 2022 triumph, a number that sees him rapidly approaching Roger Federer's hallowed record.

The Swiss maestro's dominance on Centre Court spanned most of the period from 2003 to 2012, while he claimed the trophy in 2017 as his career wound down.

By that stage of proceedings, Djokovic had won three Wimbledon titles and has picked up the mantle as the king of grass courts since Federer's decline and ultimate retirement.

Many winners from the last couple of decades have gone on to repeat their heroics, resulting in legends being born on Centre Court.

More like this brings you the most successful players in Wimbledon history below.

Who has won the most Wimbledon titles? (Men's singles)

Swiss champion Roger Federer has won the most men's singles titles at SW19, lifting the trophy a staggering eight times.

His first victory came in 2003, defeating Mark Philippoussis in straight sets. Federer's 2003 triumph was the first in a streak of five straight wins at The Championships.

He celebrated his most recent win in 2017, beating Marin Cilic without dropping a set.

Pete Sampras is the joint-second most successful male Wimbledon champion in the Open era, with a tally of seven wins, level with Novak Djokovic, and ahead of Bjorn Borg.

Despite their status as part of the so-called Big Four, Rafael Nadal and Andy Murray have only won Wimbledon two times each.

Open Era Wimbledon titles

  1. Roger Federer – 8
  2. Novak Djokovic – 7
  3. Pete Sampras – 7
  4. Bjorn Borg – 5
  5. John McEnroe/Boris Becker – 3

For more Wimbledon features, check out: Wimbledon FAQs, facts and figures | How does Wimbledon Hawk-Eye work?

Who has won the most Wimbledon titles? (Women's singles)

Czech superstar Martina Navratilova has won the most women's singles titles in the Open era, clocking up an impressive nine wins at the All England Club – more than any player in the men's or women's games have been able to achieve before or since.

Her first win came in 1978, when Chris Evert took her to three sets, and she claimed her last Wimbledon singles title 12 years later, beating Zina Garrison in straight sets.

Steffi Graf and Serena Williams have come close, both of whom have celebrated seven singles championships at SW19. Of course, Williams still has an outside chance of adding to that total.

Open Era Wimbledon titles

  1. Martina Navratilova – 9
  2. Steffi Graf/Serena Williams – 7
  3. Venus Williams – 5
  4. Billie Jean King – 4
  5. Chris Evert – 3

Check out our live tennis on TV today page for all the major tournaments taking place this week and in 2023.

Read more about this year's Wimbledon in the special latest issue of Radio Times magazine – out now.


If you’re looking for something else to watch, check out our TV Guide and Streaming Guide or visit our Sport hub for all the latest news.

Take part in the Screen Test, a project from Radio Times and the Universities of Sussex and Brighton, to explore the role of television and audio in our lives.


Try Radio Times magazine today and get 12 issues for only £1 with delivery to your home – subscribe now. For more from the biggest stars in TV, listen to The Radio Times Podcast.