The Radio Times logo

SPFL crowns Celtic winners and relegates Hearts as season ends

Celtic are declared Scottish Premiership champions, marking the team's ninth consecutive season win.

Published: Monday, 18th May 2020 at 1:49 pm

Celtic Football Club has been confirmed as the Scottish Premiership winners for 2020, while Hearts has been relegated following the end of the season.


The Scottish Premier Football League board made the unanimous decision during a meeting earlier today, after the 12 competing clubs agreed that completing the season was unfeasible due to coronavirus.

Celtic's victory marks their ninth consecutive season win.

The board used average points per game played to determine the final results, with Celtic placing 13 points ahead of nearest competitors Rangers. However, Celtic had played a game more before the season was halted.

Hearts landed at the bottom of the scoreboard, four point behind Hamilton Academical.

The Tynecastle team could claw back however after chair Ann Budge was given approval to work on a temporary league reconstruction proposal.

SPFL chairman Murdoch MacLennan congratulated Celtic and commiserated Hearts, saying the league were left with "no realistic option but to call" the season.

The season came to a halt in March and a few weeks later, 81 per cent of clubs voted to give the SPFL board power to end the season if they consider the remaining 49 games to be unplayable.

In a statement to Celtic fans, the team's manager Neil Lennon said that the supporters are the best around. "Together we have shown that we are a powerful force and once again the best team in the country."

"We would have loved to play out the season in front of you, it is what we all wanted. We were desperate to continue the blistering form we were in when the season was suspended," he added. "However, do not in a way let this detract from our achievement. While many will seek to challenge us, the title is ours and we deserve it."

In Scotland, all levels of football are suspended until at least 10 June,, while football associations must declare their season by 25 May.

The final results are as listed:

  1. Celtic
  2. Rangers
  3. Motherwell
  4. Aberdeen
  5. Livingston
  6. St Johnstone
  7. Hibernian
  8. Kilmarnock
  9. St Mirren
  10. Ross County
  11. Hamilton Academy
  12. Hearts

Find out which other sporting events have been affected by coronavirus here.


If you're looking for more to watch, check out our TV guide.


Sponsored content