Netflix’s Regency-era drama Bridgerton blew us all away in 2020, and now a second season is upon us.


Julia Quinn's Bridgerton book series, upon which the Netflix show is based, consists of eight novels – one for each of the Bridgerton siblings.

Showrunner Chris Van Dusen has previously suggested that there could be a whopping eight seasons of Bridgerton, which would mirror the novels, and his wish seems to be coming through, with Netflix already having renewed Bridgerton for seasons three and four.

Season 1 largely followed the events of the first Bridgerton book, and season 2 the second novel, titled The Viscount Who Loved Me, by shifting its focus from Regé-Jean Page's character to the eldest Bridgerton brother Anthony (Jonathan Bailey) and his dramatic entry into the marriage market.

However, Bridgerton season 2 does differ from its source material in many ways (read about the plot deviations here).

More like this

If you're looking for clues as to what might happen in future seasons of Bridgerton, read on for everything you need to know about the eight Bridgerton books and how to read them in order.

Bridgerton books: release order list

Claudia Jessie as Eloise in Bridgerton wearing a big fluffy headpiece looking fed-up
Claudia Jessie as Eloise in Bridgerton LIAM DANIEL/NETFLIX

Julia Quinn's Bridgerton series begins with The Duke and I, published in 2000, and ends with On the Way to the Wedding, published in 2006 about Gregory Bridgerton – although there's an epilogue, The Bridgertons: Happily Ever After, focussing on Violet Bridgerton.

  1. The Duke and I (2000)
  2. The Viscount Who Loved Me (2000)
  3. An Offer From a Gentleman (2001)
  4. Romancing Mister Bridgerton (2002)
  5. To Sir Phillip, With Love (2003)
  6. When He Was Wicked (2004)
  7. It's In His Kiss (2005)
  8. On the Way to the Wedding (2006)
  9. The Bridgertons: Happily Ever After (2013)

There is also a separate series of Lady Whistledown anthologies, written by Julia Quinn alongside authors Suzanne Enoch, Karen Hawkins and Mia Ryan, focussing on Lady Whistledown's gossip columns.

  1. The Further Observations of Lady Whistledown (2003)
  2. Lady Whistledown Strikes Back (2004)

Bridgerton books: chronological order

Jonathan Bailey as Anthony Bridgerton in Bridgerton season 2
Jonathan Bailey as Anthony Bridgerton in Bridgerton season 2 Liam Daniel / Netflix

Each book in the Bridgerton series focuses on the romantic exploits of one of the family's children – starting with Daphne Bridgerton in the first novel, The Duke and I.

The main Bridgerton series was released in chronological order, however the Lady Whistledown spin-off novellas slot in throughout.

  1. The Duke and I (April 1813).
    Covered by season one of the Netflix drama, Book One follows the love story of Daphne Bridgerton and The Duke of Hastings.
  2. The Viscount Who Loved Me (1814)
    Book Two looks at the story of Anthony, the eldest Bridgerton sibling, and his romance with Kate Sheffield, the older sister of the woman he was actually planning to marry.
  3. The Further Observations of Lady Whistledown (1814)
    Lady Whistledown's observations in the weeks leading up to Valentine's Day 1814.
  4. An Offer From a Gentleman (1815)
    Following Benedict Bridgerton, Book Three is a Cinderella-esque story about his crush on Sophie Beckett, an earl's daughter who is cruelly treated by her stepmother.
  5. Lady Whistledown Strikes Back (May 1816)
    Another anthology series, this novella takes a peek at Lady Whistledown's Society Papers in May 1816.
  6. Romancing Mister Bridgerton (1824)
    Book Four tells the long love story of Colin Bridgerton and Penelope Featherington.
  7. To Sir Phillip, With Love (1824)
    We finally get to Eloise Bridgerton, who is expected to marry Sir Phillip Crane – but is it the right choice?
  8. When He Was Wicked (1824)
    Now onto the younger Bridgerton siblings, Book Six looks at Francesca Bridgerton and her romance with Michael Stirling.
  9. It's In His Kiss (1825)
    This novel looks at Hyacinth Bridgerton and Gareth St Clair.
  10. On the Way to the Wedding (1827)
    The second youngest Bridgerton child finally gets a romance of his own in On the Way to the Wedding.
  11. The Bridgertons: Happily Ever After
    The final epilogue in the series, focussing on the family's matriarch Violet Bridgerton.

Bridgerton season 2 is streaming on Netflix now. If you’re looking for more to watch, check out our TV Guide. You can also visit our Drama hub for all the latest news.


The latest issue of Radio Times is on sale now – subscribe now to get each issue delivered to your door. For more from the biggest stars in TV, listen to the Radio Times podcast with Jane Garvey.