Taylor Swift is in the process of re-recording her first six albums as 'Taylor's Versions'.


The singer released 1989 (Taylor's Version) in October, marking the fourth album she has re-recorded from her back catalogue, and leaving fans wondering when the final two albums – Reputation and Taylor Swift – will be given an update.

In a recent interview with Time magazine for its Person of the Year issue, Swift revealed that she’s begun working on the re-record of her sixth album, teasing that the extra 'From the Vault' tracks she plans to include on it are "fire".

Reputation is a firm favourite within the Swift fandom, and was Swift's last under Big Machine Records.

Some of the biggest hits from the album include ...Ready For It? and Look What You Made Me Do, the latter of which was recently re-recorded as the title song for Prime Video's Wilderness.

More like this

"It’s a goth-punk moment of female rage at being gaslit by an entire social structure," she told the magazine of the original album. "I think a lot of people see it and they’re just like, 'Sick snakes and strobe lights.'"

The singer also spoke about the moment that led to the album in the first place - her "cancellation" in 2016.

"That took me down psychologically to a place I’ve never been before. I moved to a foreign country. I didn’t leave a rental house for a year. I was afraid to get on phone calls. I pushed away most people in my life because I didn’t trust anyone anymore.

"I went down really, really hard."

She added: "I thought that moment of backlash was going to define me negatively for the rest of my life."

But just when can we expect Reputation (Taylor's Version) to be released and what exactly are these rumours? Read on to find out more.

Reputation (Taylor's Version) release date speculation

Taylor Swift wearing a light blue dress, spinning
Taylor Swift. TAS2023/Getty Images

The latest internet theories claim Reputation will come out sometime in 2024.

Original theories claimed we could be getting Reputation (Taylor's Version) in November 2023, but that hasn't turned out to be the case.

Seeing as Reputation was originally released on 10th November 2017, fans thought that Swift could be announcing her new version of the album on the same day this year.

There was certainly plenty of fanfare around the date, with TikTok user @notalyssasue going viral on the platform breaking down just why she thought the date was one to be considered for the re-release.

She stated in her video that, actually, she thought Reputation's re-release would be announced on Thursday 9th November and acknowledged the fact that many do think it would be the 10th, to coincide with the album's original release date.

"I know that you're looking at me crazy, but please hear me out," she says.

She explained that on the Midnights album, there's a song called Glitch, which has the lyrics: "But it's been two thousand one hundred and 90 days of our love blackout."

The TikTok user then pointed out that Swift had a well-known social media blackout ahead of her Reputation era and returned "randomly" one day. But she then calculated that the number of days between the original release date of Reputation on 10th November 2017 and 9th November 2023 is 2,190, just like in the song Glitch.

She also said the number of days between 1989 (Taylor's Version) and 9th November is 13 days, which just so happens to be Swift's favourite number.

On the theme of glitching, the TikToker pointed out that Swift's outfits have been flitting between black and blue, potentially signifying the shift between the singer's 1989 and Reputation eras. Similarly, when pre-saving 1989 (Taylor's Version), she stated that the screen glitched to black before returning to the original blue colour.

Read more:

What songs could be included in Reputation (Taylor's Version)?

Taylor Swift in a red outfit, singing into a microphone
Taylor Swift. Photo by Natasha Moustache/TAS23/Getty Images for TAS Rights Management

Well, Swift has so far re-released her own versions of the songs and also treated fans to some bonus tracks 'From the Vault' which didn't make the cut the first time round.

Here are the original songs on Reputation that we'd expect to see on Taylor's Version:

  • …Ready for It?
  • End Game (feat Ed Sheeran and Future)
  • I Did Something Bad
  • Don’t Blame Me
  • Delicate
  • Look What You Made Me Do
  • So It Goes…
  • Gorgeous
  • Getaway Car
  • King of My Heart
  • Dancing With Our Hands Tied
  • Dress
  • This Is Why We Can’t Have Nice Things
  • Call It What You Want
  • New Year's Day

Check out more of our Radio coverage or visit our TV Guide and Streaming Guide to find out what's on.


Try Radio Times magazine today and get 10 issues for only £10 – subscribe now. For more from the biggest stars in TV, listen to The Radio Times Podcast.