The Radio Times logo

United Kingdom nabs favourable slot in Eurovision 2017 running order

Lucie Jones's chances will be greatly boosted with a prime slot in the Song Contest schedule

Published: Friday, 12th May 2017 at 7:23 pm

UK Eurovision entry Lucie Jones’s chances at a decent finish in the 2017 Song Contest Grand Final have been boosted by a lucky draw in the Eurovision running order.


The Welsh singer has been selected to perform 18th on the night, sandwiched between Cyprus and Norway’s entries and a few slots ahead of Romania’s delightful rap and yodelling filled offering.

Acts who perform in the second half of the competition have traditionally managed a much more successful finish in the Grand Final, with the majority of winners over the past decade taking glory after performing anywhere from 17th to 22nd in the running order.

Who is Lucie Jones? Meet the UK's 2017 Eurovision entry

It’s no surprise to see strong entries from Belgium, Sweden and Bulgaria performing in 23rd, 24th and 25th places, but bookies' favourites Italy and Portugal could have a little more trouble having been drawn to perform 6th and 11th respectively.

However, it's all to sing for as Sweden’s Mans Zelmerlow won in 2015 after taking to the stage 10th on the night.

It's worth UK fans bearing in mind, though, that Jones’s Eurovision songwriter Emmelie de Forest won the show from the 18th slot in 2014 with her own performance of Denmark's song Only Teardrops – she’ll be hoping number 18 proves just as lucky for her 2017 singer.

What time will UK Eurovision entry Lucie Jones perform?

Well, it’s difficult to be sure, but if you consider every Eurovision track can be max three minutes long, multiply that by the 17 songs before her and allow time for both an elaborate opening number and a break between the performances, it’s safe to say she won’t be on TV early in the evening.

We’d expect to see Lucie Jones perform after 9pm.

Eurovision Song Contest 2017 Running Order

  1. Israel
  2. Poland
  3. Belarus
  4. Austria
  5. Armenia
  6. The Netherlands
  7. Moldova
  8. Hungary
  9. Italy
  10. Denmark
  11. Portugal
  12. Azerbaijan
  13. Croatia
  14. Australia
  15. Greece
  16. Spain
  17. Norway
  18. United Kingdom
  19. Cyprus
  20. Romania
  21. Germany
  22. Ukraine
  23. Belgium
  24. Sweden
  25. Bulgaria
  26. France

Here's everything you need to know about the Eurovision Song Contest 2017


Sponsored content