The semi-finals have been and gone and now we can look forward to the main event – with the Eurovision Song Contest grand final set to air tonight (11th May).


In total there were 37 acts taking part in this year's Eurovision, but that number was whittled down to 26 following the semi-finals and was then reduced further after it was confirmed that the Netherlands entrant Joost Klein had been disqualified following a backstage incident.

That means that 25 nations will be battling it out for the chance to be crowned winner tonight, with Croatia's Baby Lasagna and Switzerland's Nemo among the favourites to be selected as champion by the jury and voters at home.

Taking place at the Malmö Arena in Sweden following Loreen being crowned the 2023 champion, the UK's coverage of the competition will be fronted by Graham Norton, Richie Anderson, Rylan Clark and Scott Mills on BBC One, iPlayer and BBC Sounds.

We know that the UK will be represented by Olly Alexander with his song Dizzy, but what about the other competing acts?

More like this

Here's everything you need to know about this year's Eurovision entries.

Eurovision Song Contest 2024 line-up

Olly Alexander sat on a tree stump with his arms folded and legs crossed. He is shirtless and is wearing brown trousers in the middle of a forest with a cabin behind him.
Olly Alexander for Eurovision 2024. BBC

A total of 25 countries will be competing in 68th Annual Eurovision Song Contestant Grand Final, with each act set to take centre stage at the Malmö Arena in Sweden.

Here are all the countries taking part:

  • Armenia - Jako - LADANIVA
  • Austria - We Will Rave - Kaleen
  • Croatia - Rim Tim Tagi Dim - Baby Lasagna
  • Cyprus - Liar - Silia Kapsis
  • Estonia - (Nendest) narkootikumidest ei tea me (küll) midagi' '(We Still) Don't Know Anything About (These) Drugs' - 5MIINUST x Puuluup
  • Finland - No Rules - Windows95man
  • France - Mon amour - Slimane
  • Georgia - Firefighter - Nutsa Buzaladze
  • Germany - Always on the Run - Isaak
  • Greece - ZARI - Marina Satti
  • Ireland - Doomsday Blue - Bambie Thug
  • Israel - Hurricane - Eden Golan
  • Italy - La noia - Angelina Mango
  • Latvia - Hollow - Dons
  • Lithuania - Luktelk - Silvester Belt
  • Luxembourg - Fighter - TALI
  • Norway - Ulveham - Gåte
  • Portugal - Grito - iolanda
  • Serbia - RAMONDA - TEYA DORA
  • Slovenia - Veronika - Raiven
  • Spain - ZORRA - Nebulossa
  • Sweden - Unforgettable - Marcus & Martinus
  • Switzerland - The Code - Nemo
  • Ukraine - Teresa & Maria - alyona alyona & Jerry Heil
  • United Kingdom - Dizzy - Olly Alexander

There had initially been 37 countries taking part in the contest, but 11 of them were knocked out in the semi-finals while The Netherlands entrant Joost Klein was disqualified. The full list of countries that did not make it to the Grand Final can be found below:

  • Albania - TiTan - Besa Kokëdhima
  • Australia - One Milkali' '(One Blood) - Electric Fields
  • Azerbaijan - Özünlə Apar - Fahree featuring Ilkin Dovlatov
  • Belgium - Before the Party's Over - Mustii
  • Czechia - Pedestal - Aiko
  • Denmark - Sand - Saba
  • Iceland - Scared of Heights - Hera Björk
  • Malta - Loop'- Sarah Bonnici
  • Moldova - In the Middle - Natalia Barbu
  • Netherlands - Europapa - Joost Klein (DISQUALIFIED)
  • Poland - The Tower - LUNA
  • San Marino - 11:11 - Megara

The Eurovision Song Contest has faced significant criticism over its decision to allow Israel to compete in this year’s competition in light of the current situation in Gaza and the Middle East, with some fans and members of the music industry calling for a boycott of the ceremony.

Noel Curran – director general of the European Broadcasting Union (EBU), which organises Eurovision – has said in a statement: "We understand the concerns and deeply held views around the current conflict in the Middle East. We can’t fail to be moved by the profound suffering of all those caught up in this terrible war.

"However, the Eurovision Song Contest is a non-political music event and a competition between public service broadcasters who are members of the EBU. It is not a contest between governments.

"As a member-led organisation, our governing bodies – the Eurovision Song Contest Reference Group and the Executive Board – did review the participants list for the 2024 Contest and agreed that the Israeli public broadcaster KAN met all the competition rules for this year and can participate as it has for the past 50 years."

The artists taking part in this year's contest have also faced backlash for not pulling out of the ceremony, including the UK's act Olly Alexander, who signed a joint statement alongside other entrants explaining they "do not feel comfortable being silent".

"It is important to us to stand in solidarity with the oppressed and communicate our heartfelt wish for peace, an immediate and lasting ceasefire, and the safe return of all hostages," the statement read. "We stand united against all forms of hate, including anti-Semitism and Islamophobia.

"We firmly believe in the unifying power of music, enabling people to transcend differences and foster meaningful conversations and connections. We feel that it is our duty to create and uphold this space, with a strong hope that it will inspire greater compassion and empathy."

The Eurovision 2024 live final will air on BBC One and BBC iPlayer on Saturday 11th May at 8pm.

You can also check out the full list of Eurovision winners and how many times the UK has won Eurovision.


Check out more of our Entertainment coverage or visit our TV Guide and Streaming Guide to find out what else is on. For more from the biggest stars in TV, listen to The Radio Times Podcast.