Cricket. The United State of America. Let us repeat. Cricket. The United States of America. Major League Cricket is here.


A bold new venture will bring cricket to the masses in the USA with six fresh franchises set to do battle in a T20 tournament aiming for the stars.

Faf du Plessis, Aaron Finch, Lockie Ferguson, Rashid Khan and Quinton de Kock are among the global stars taking part in the inaugural edition of the tournament.

England internationals Jason Roy and Liam Plunkett are also among the ranks of the unusually named teams including the Seattle Orcas and San Francisco Unicorns.

Fans across the globe will look on with keen interest as another sport seeks to take America by storm, but will it catch on?

More like this brings you the complete guide to Major League Cricket, including how to watch the tournament on TV and live stream.

When does Major League Cricket start?

Major League Cricket begins on Thursday 13th July 2023.

The tournament comprises of 19 matches and will draw to a close with the final on Monday 31st July 2023.

Major League Cricket on TV and live stream in UK

Major League Cricket will be shown exclusively live on BT Sport throughout the duration of the tournament. Every match will be live on BT Sport – which changes its name to TNT Sports on Monday 17th July.

There are multiple ways to get BT Sport. If you already have BT Broadband, you can add BT TV and Sport to your existing contract from just £15 per month. You can add the ‘Big Sport’ package for £40 per month which includes all BT Sport and 11 Sky Sports channels via a NOW pass.

Fans in the US can stream matches via the Willow TV app and Sling TV, while those in India can tune into Sports 18 for all the matches.

Major League Cricket teams and players

There are six founding franchises in MLC, each with a head coach and playing captain:

  • Los Angeles Knight Riders (HC: TBA, C: TBA)
  • MI New York (HC: Robin Peterson, C: Kieron Pollard)
  • San Francisco Unicorns (HC: Shane Watson, C: Aaron Finch)
  • Seattle Orcas (HC: Pravin Amre, C: TBA)
  • Texas Super Kings (HC: Stephen Fleming, C: Faf du Plessis)
  • Washington Freedom (HC: Greg Shipperd, C: Moises Henriques)

Major League Cricket fixtures

All UK time.

Group Stage

Friday 14th July

Texas Super Kings v LA Knight Riders (1:30am)

MI New York v San Francisco Unicorns (9:30pm)

Saturday 15th July

Seattle Orcas v Washington Freedom (1:30am)

Sunday 16th July

San Francisco Unicorns v Seattle Orcas (1:30am)

Texas Super Kings v Washington Freedom (9:30pm)

Monday 17th July

LA Knight Riders v MI New York (1:30am)

Tuesday 18th July

Texas Super Kings v MI New York (1:30am)

Wednesday 19th July

LA Knight Riders v San Francisco Unicorns (1:30am)

Thursday 20th July

Washington Freedom v LA Knight Riders (11:30pm)

Friday 21st July

Seattle Orcas v Texas Super Kings (11:30pm)

Saturday 22nd July

Washington Freedom v San Francisco Super Kings (11:30pm)

Sunday 23rd July

LA Knight Riders v Seattle Orcas (7:30pm)

MI New York v Washington Freedom (11:30pm)

Monday 24th July

San Francisco Unicorns v Texas Super Kings (11:30pm)

Tuesday 25th July

MI New York v Seattle Orcas (11:30pm)


Thursday 27th July

Team 3 v Team 4 (9:30pm)

Friday 28th July

Team 1 v Team 2 (1:30am)

Third-place play-off

Saturday 29th July

Loser match 16 v Winner Match 17 (1:30am)


Monday 31st July

Winner match 16 v Winner Match 18 (1:30am)

If you're looking for something else to watch, check out our TV Guide or Streaming Guide or visit our Sport hub for all the latest news.

Take part in the Screen Test, a project from Radio Times and the Universities of Sussex and Brighton, to explore the role of television and audio in our lives.


Try Radio Times magazine today and get 12 issues for only £1 with delivery to your home – subscribe now. For more from the biggest stars in TV, listen to The Radio Times Podcast.