We waited so long but now The Book of Boba Fett is finally on Disney Plus.


After being teased with a deadly post-credits scene featured as part of The Mandalorian’s season two finale, classic bounty hunter Boba Fett – played by Temuera Morrison – has over Jabba the Hutt’s palace and now sits on the old crime lord’s throne.

The series has so far focused on former bounty hunter Boba Fett (Morrison) and his associate Fennec Shand (Ming-Na Wen) as they seek to establish control over Jabba's old territory - but face enemies in the form of the powerful Pyke Syndicate.

Meanwhile, extensive flashbacks show how Boba has gotten to where he is today, flashing back to his childhood on Kamino as shown in Attack of the Clones and also his survival of the Sarlac Pit which he fell into in Return of the Jedi.

In case that wasn't enough, we have also been treated to some surprising connections to The Mandalorian and other iconic Star Wars characters.

More like this

So, as the dramatic events of The Book of Boba Fett continue, you may be wondering how long you have left of the series.

How many episodes of The Book of Boba Fett will there be and when will the season finale arrive on Disney Plus? Read on for everything you need to know.

How many episodes of The Book of Boba Fett are there?

Temuera Morrison and Ming-Na Wen in The Book of Boba Fett
Temuera Morrison and Ming-Na Wen in The Book of Boba Fett Disney

The Book of Boba Fett launched on Disney Plus on Wednesday 29th December 2021 and will consist of seven episodes.

The official Star Wars website has confirmed that these episodes will be released "weekly", which seems to rule out any surprise double-bills, e.g. the final two episodes being dropped at once.

The Mandalorian’s Jon Favreau and Dave Filoni will serve as executive producers, alongside director Robert Rodriguez, who will also be directing several episodes of the spin-off show, while Favreau, Filoni and Bryce Dallas Howard will each be helming at least one episode each.

According to Ming-Na Wen, The Book of Boba Fett will be “more like a take on gangster movies” as opposed to The Mandalorian's more 'space Western' vibe (via Entertainment Weekly).

"We’re going to see [Boba's] past and where he’s been since The Empire Strikes Back," Morrison told Rotten Tomatoes. "Somebody pointed out he’s been kind of stuck in this one place, and now’s the time to actually go back in time and check out his journey and find out more about him."

When will The Book of Boba Fett’s season finale be released?

The Mandalorian in armour in The Book of Boba Fett.
The Mandalorian in armour in The Book of Boba Fett Disney+/LucasFilm

Given that we're getting seven episodes, almost certainly at a rate of one per week, The Book of Boba Fett's season finale will almost certainly be released on Disney Plus on Wednesday 9th February 2022.

You can expect The Book of Boba Fett's episodic release schedule to look something like this:

  • Chapter 1: Stranger in a Strange Land - 29th December 2021
  • Chapter 2: The Tribes of Tatooine - 5th January 2022
  • Chapter 3: The Streets of Mos Espa - 12th January 2022
  • Chapter 4: The Gathering Storm - 19th January 2022
  • Chapter 5: Return of the Mandalorian - 26th January 2022
  • Chapter 6: From the Desert Comes a Stranger - 2nd February 2022
  • Chapter 7 - 9th February 2022

So, that's a strong run of episodes to enjoy. Let's hope the wait for The Mandalorian season 3 isn't too long after this!

Read more about The Book of Boba Fett:


The Book of Boba Fett premiered on Disney Plus on Wednesday 29th December 2021. Sign up to Disney Plus for £7.99 a month or £79.90 a year.
If you’re looking for something else to watch, read our guide to the best series on Disney Plus, check out our Sci-fi hub for more news, interviews and features, or visit our TV Guide to see what’s on tonight.