How to read the Enola Holmes books in order

Everything you need to k now about Nancy Springer's Enola Holmes series and how to read the books in order.

  We may earn commission from links on this page. Our editorial is always independent (learn more)
Enola Holmes

Fans of Millie Bobby Brown and Sherlock Holmes are in for a treat this week, with Netflix’s release of Enola Holmes – a film starring the Stranger Things darling as Sherlock Holmes’ younger sleuth sister Enola.

Advertisement

Based on Nancy Springer’s book series of the same name, Enola Holmes takes place in 19th century England, where Enola escapes from her finishing school to search for her missing mother (Helena Bonham Carter) much to the annoyance of her older brothers – Sherlock (Henry Cavill) and Mycroft (Sam Claflin).

For those looking to read the source material before diving into Netflix’s film adaptations, we’ve put together your ultimate guide to Nancy Springer’s book series – from which book to start with, to where you can buy each one.

Here’s everything you need to know about the Enola Holmes book collection.

The Enola Holmes series in order

Enola Holmes
Netflix

If you’re wondering where to start with the Enola Holmes series, the books should be read in the following order:

  1. The Case of the Missing Marquess
  2. The Case of the Left-Handed Lady
  3. The Case of the Bizarre Bouquets
  4. The Case of the Peculiar Pink Fan
  5. The Case of the Cryptic Crinoline
  6. The Case of the Gypsy Goodbye

The Case of the Missing Marquess

The first book in the series, The Case of the Missing Marquess was published in 2006 and introduced an audience of young adults to Enola – the younger sister of detective extraordinaire Sherlock Holmes.

The novel, on which the Netflix adaptation is based, follows Enola as she escapes the finishing school she’s been sent to by her brothers to search for their missing mother and along the way, meets a missing young Viscount, Lord Tewksbury, who is wanted by mysterious kidnappers.

The Case of the Missing Marquess is available to buy from Amazon for £6.55.

The Case of the Left-Handed Lady

The Case of the Left-Handed Lady is the second novel in Nancy Springer’s Enola Holmes series and follows the titular amateur sleuth as she searches for Lady Cecily – a left-handed girl who’s disappeared without a trace – whilst evading capture by her older brother Sherlock.

The Case of the Left-Handed Lady is available to buy from Amazon.

The Case of the Bizarre Bouquets

In the third book in the Enola Holmes series, The Case of the Bizarre Bouquets, Enola is still hiding from her older brothers but can’t help taking on a new case when Sherlock’s right-hand man Dr Watson goes missing. When she discovers that a bizarre bouquet of flowers, all of which symbolise death, has been found at the Watson residence, she knows she must act quickly before it’s too late.

The Case of the Bizarre Bouquets is available to buy from Amazon.

The Case of the Peculiar Pink Fan

The Case of the Peculiar Pink Fan, which is the fourth novel in the series, follows Enola as she tries to help her friend Lady Cecily, who has become endangered as a hostage in an orphanage and is set to be married against her will.

The Case of the Peculiar Pink Fan is available to buy from Amazon.

The Case of the Cryptic Crinoline

In the fifth book in the Enola Holmes series, The Case of the Peculiar Pink Fan, Enola discovers that her landlady – Mrs Tupper – has been kidnapped, and that her old crinoline dress somehow links her to Florence Nightingale.

The Case of the Cryptic Crinoline is available to buy from Amazon.

The Case of the Gypsy Goodbye

The sixth and final book in the series – The Case of the Gypsy Goodbye – sees Enola take on the missing case of Lady Blanchefleur del Campo before receiving a message from her long-lost mother and taking steps to reconcile with her brothers.

The Case of the Gypsy Goodbye is available to buy from Amazon.

Advertisement

Enola Holmes arrives on Netflix on Wednesday 23rd September. Check out our lists of the best series on Netflix and the best movies on Netflix. If you’re looking for something to watch, check out our TV Guide.