The Radio Times logo

Classic Doctor Who writer to return to the series for series 10

With long-running NuWho writer Jamie Mathieson also rejoining the Tardis crew

Published: Wednesday, 16th November 2016 at 1:50 pm

A Doctor Who writer from the “classic” era of the sci-fi stalwart is returning for next year’s series, the BBC has confirmed.


Rona Munro, who previously wrote Sylvester McCoy adventure Survival in 1989 (below), will return to the series after 27 years to pen series 10’s ninth episode, which will apparently be titled The Eaters of Light.

And she’s not the only returning writer next year, with series representatives also confirming to us that Jamie Mathieson (who wrote Mummy on the Orient Express, Flatline and The Girl Who Died in the last two series) rejoining the crew to write the new series’ fifth episode.

Writing on his blog about the announcement, Mathieson said: “Yes, I am back writing for Doctor Who. As evidenced by the accompanying photo which I call 'Power Stance while Protecting Groin'.”

The guest cast for Munro’s episode will include Rebecca Benson, Daniel Kerr, Juwon Adedokun, Brian Vernel, Ben Hunter, Aaron Phagura, Sam Adewunmi and Billy Matthews, while Mathieson’s will feature Kieran Bew, Justin Salinger, Peter Caulfield, Mimi Ndiweni and Karen Brayben.

Other returning writers for the upcoming tenth series include showrunner Steven Moffat, Sarah Dollard and Frank Cottrell-Boyce, alongside newcomer to the series Mike Bartlett.


Doctor Who will return to BBC1 on Christmas Day, and for a full series in April 2017


Sponsored content