HBO and George RR Martin to create multiple Game of Thrones spin-off series

We will be visiting different time periods in the Thrones universe


Game of Thrones fans can breathe a sigh of relief: even though the main series is still scheduled to conclude after eight seasons, a ton of spin-off shows have just been announced.


Viewers will be able to return to Westeros for a long time to come, because US network HBO has signed a deal with George RR Martin and four scriptwriters to create a series of new shows.

With four writers attached, that could mean a grand total of four spin-offs – though the number has not been confirmed.

According to the BBC, the new Game of Thrones shows will take us to different time periods in the “vast and rich universe” originally created by Martin in the A Song Of Ice And Fire series.

There’s no deadline and no release date, but it seems we could be looking a long way ahead – as there is still one more season of the main Game of Thrones series to film before focus moves to the spin-offs.

“We’ll take as much or as little time as the writers need and, as with all our development, we will evaluate what we have when the scripts are in,” an HBO spokesperson said.

The four scriptwriters in question are Kick-Ass co-writer Jane Goldman, Man Men writer Carly Wray, LA confidential screenplay writer Brian Helgeland, and Kong: Skull Island’s Max Borenstein, who will work on the project alongside Martin.


Series seven of Game of Thrones will be shown in the UK on Sky Atlantic and Now TV at 2am on 17th July and will be repeated at 9pm