The Radio Times logo
We may earn commission from links on this page. Our editorial is always independent (learn more)

Apex Legends Mobile release date: Patch notes revealed & where to download

Apex Legends Mobile is available to download now in the UK, and here's what you need to know.

Apex Legends comes to mobile.
Respawn
Published: Tuesday, 17th May 2022 at 12:01 pm
Subscribe to Radio Times magazine and get 12 issues for £1

Apex Legends Mobile has arrived! After months of speculation and plenty of chat, Respawn Entertainment has released the phone-friendly version of its popular multiplayer game.

Advertisement

Available to download now on iOS and Android in the UK and everywhere else (except Belgium), Apex Legends Mobile will introduce a new hero character named Fade, as well as adding co-op missions to the game that you can take on with your squad.

To get the full skinny on Apex Legends Mobile, read on for all the important launch day details including the full patch notes!

When was the Apex Legends Mobile release date?

The Apex Legends Mobile release date was 17th May 2022 for fans all around the world, including those of us here in the UK.

Previously, on 7th March 2022, the mobile version of the game launched in Argentina, Australia, Colombia, Indonesia, Malaysia, Mexico, New Zealand, Peru, the Philippines and Singapore.

Where to download Apex Legends Mobile

The Google Play store page for Apex Legends Mobile has gone live in Britain, as has the Apple App Store page, so you can download the game and start playing now on iOS or Android.

Note that the game will not be launching in Belgium. As EA puts it, this is "due to the local regulatory situation around paid random rewards".

When was the Apex Legends Mobile launch time?

The following release times for Apex Legends Mobile were confirmed in advance. You should be able to jump into the game now, then, here in the UK.

  • USA: 11PM CDT on 16th May
  • UK: 5am BST on 17th May
  • Europe: 6am CEST on 17th May
  • Australia: 2pm AEST on 17th May
  • New Zealand: 4pm NZST on 17th May
  • Japan: 1pm JST on 17th May

Apex Legends Mobile patch notes

Fade, the new legend, arrives in Apex Legends Mobile.
Fade, the new legend, arrives in Apex Legends Mobile. Respawn/EA

You can find the full Apex Legends Mobile patch notes on EA's official website at that link. If you're looking for some key points, here's a quick listed summary:

  • New legend, Fade, added to the game (unlocked at level 25 in free battle pass)
  • Advance Training Level mode added
  • Weekly Challenges updating every week
  • Auto team fill feature added
  • In-game shop updated
  • Co-op missions added
  • Club Store added
  • Emoji emote system added
  • New weapons, attachments and gear added
  • Legend Perk System tweaked
  • Various weapons tweaked
  • Various bug fixes and improvements deployed

Is Apex Legends Mobile crossplay with the other versions?

Apex Legends Mobile will not support crossplay, so you will only be able to battle against other mobile players, rather than intermingling with gamers on other platforms.

Respawn has opted against crossplay in this instance, announcing on its FAQ page: "Because Apex Legends Mobile is being built especially for mobile, it won’t feature cross-play with the console or PC versions of Apex Legends."

An official image from Apex Legends Mobile.
An official image from Apex Legends Mobile. Respawn

Is Apex Legends Mobile free to play?

Also on that handy FAQ page, Respawn confirmed that Apex Legends Mobile is free to play, and it will not include paid items that grant you a gameplay advantage. There will be Battle Passes, cosmetics and other things you can buy, though, some of which will be exclusive to this new mobile version of the game.

Is there an Apex Legends Mobile trailer?

There is an Apex Legends Mobile trailer, teasing the first season of content in the game. Take a look below to whet your appetite for the Apex Legends Mobile release date on 17th May.

Follow Radio Times Gaming on Twitter for all the latest insights. Or if you're looking for something to watch, see our TV Guide.

Visit our video game release schedule for all upcoming games on consoles. Swing by our hubs for more Gaming and Technology news.

Advertisement

The latest issue of Radio Times is on sale now – subscribe now to get each issue delivered to your door. For more from the biggest stars in TV, listen to the Radio Times podcast with Jane Garvey. 

Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement

Sponsored content