BBC Sports Personality of the Year nominees announced

Read the full list of those up for the annual BBC award and tell us who you think should win

The BBC has announced the nominees for this year’s coveted Sports Personality of the Year award, as decided by the sports editors of leading newspapers. Here’s the list in full:


Mark Cavendish (cyclist) – Tour de France sprint king, winner of the coveted green jersey

Darren Clarke (golf)  – long-odds Open champion, won his first major at age 42

Alastair Cook (cricket) – England’s star batsman smashed the Aussies and lit up the Ashes

Luke Donald (golf) – became world number one after winning a tense play-off against Lee Westwood at the European Tour’s flagship event at Wentworth

Mo Farah (athletics) – made history by winning Britain’s first world gold at 5,000m in the 2011 Athletics World Championships

Dai Greene (athletics) – European, Commonwealth and world champion 400m hurdler

Amir Khan (boxing) – world light-welterweight champ, named British boxer of the year

Rory McIlroy (golf) – won the US Open with a stunning score of 268

Andy Murray (tennis) – moved ahead of Roger Federer to become world number three

Andrew Strauss (cricket) –  captained England to back-to-back Ashes victories


Voting will take place by phone during the live show on Thursday 22 December at 8pm on BBC1 but – just for fun – why not vote below for the sportsperson you think should win.