The Radio Times logo

Utopia/The Sound of Drums/Last of the Time Lords ★★★★

With Derek Jacobi and John Simm both cast as the Master – how can Russell T Davies's three-parter fail..?

Published: Tuesday, 15th October 2013 at 3:07 pm

Story 187
Series 3 – Episode 11, 12 & 13


First UK transmissions
Saturday 16 June 2007
Saturday 23 June 2007
Saturday 30 June 2007

Captain Jack clings to the Tardis exterior as it hurtles to the end of the universe, where Professor Yana is trying to save the last vestiges of mankind. A yawning yarn abruptly cranks up to exhilarating when Yana (peerless Derek Jacobi) is revealed as the Master, then regenerates – into John Simm.

In the guise of Harold Saxon, the Master becomes British Prime Minister, kills the US President on live telly and unleashes the bladed spherical Toclafane on Earth. The poor Doctor spends most of this finale as a decrepit old geezer or as a wizened imp kept in a birdcage; and his eventual messianic resurrection seems dubious. But with David Tennant out of the limelight, John Simm is mesmerising as the Master and Freema Agyeman shines as Martha, who becomes a legend in her own lifetime. She leaves the Doctor to care for her traumatised family.

January–March 2007. Main locations: Old NEG glass site in Cardiff. Argoed quarry in Llansannor. Wenvoe quarry. Millennium Square in Cardiff Bay. Hensol Castle. Cwrt-yVil Road and Esplanade in Penarth. Greyfriars Place, the Friary, University Place and old British Rail warehouse in Cardiff. Forte’s Café and beach at Barry Island. Studio: Upper Boat Studios, Treforest, Pontypridd.

The Doctor – David Tennant
Martha Jones – Freema Agyeman
Captain Jack Harkness – John Barrowman
Professor Yana/The Master – Derek Jacobi
The Master/Harold Saxon – John Simm
Chantho – Chipo Chung
Francine Jones – Adjoa Andoh
Tish Jones – Gugu Mbatha-Raw
Clive Jones – Trevor Laird
Leo Jones – Reggie Yates
Lucy Saxon – Alexandra Moen
Padra – Rene Zagger
Lieutenant Atillo – Neil Reidman
Chieftain – Paul Marc Davies
Guard – Robert Forknall
Creet – John Bell
Kistane – Deborah MacLaren
Wiry woman – Abigail Canton
President – Colin Stinton
Vivien Rook – Nichola McAuliffe
Albert Dumfries – Nicholas Gecks
Themselves – Sharon Osbourne, McFly, Ann Widdecombe
BBC Newsreader – Olivia Hill
US Newsreader – Lachele Carl
Chinese Newsreader – Daniel Ming
Sinister woman – Elize du Toit
Sphere Voices – Zoe Thorne, Gerard Logan, Johnnie Lyne-Pirkis
The Master (aged eight) – William Hughes (uncredited)
Thomas Milligan – Tom Ellis
Professor Docherty – Ellie Haddington
Lad – Tom Golding
Woman – Natasha Alexander


Writer – Russell T Davies
Director – Graeme Harper (11), Colin Teague (12 & 13)
Designer – Edward Thomas
Incidental music – Murray Gold
Producer – Phil Collinson
Executive producers – Russell T Davies, Julie Gardner


Sponsored content