Stuffed full of memorable musical numbers, The Little Mermaid quickly hooked in fans around the world upon its release back in 1989.


And now, in 2023, fans have been treated to a live-action remake, which includes classics from the original movie, as well as a number of fresh compositions by Hamilton creator Lin-Manuel Miranda.

These new tunes include a solo number for Prince Eric (Jonah Hauer-King) titled Wild Uncharted Waters, as well as a new song for Ariel (Halle Bailey) called For the First Time.

Perhaps most notably, The Little Mermaid 2023 features a new rap performed by Scuttle (Awkwafina) and Sebastian (Daveed Diggs) titled The Scuttlebutt.

Speaking about writing the latter, Menken told and other press: "The Scuttlebutt... is just, that's a surprise gift for [Lin-Manuel], 'cause I gave him this Caribbean tune and Lin sort of did a rap over it that was so perfect.

"[He] used the music, but it had this rhythmic pulse to it. It was just pure Lin-Manuel Miranda!"

Meanwhile, Miranda has also made a couple of amendments to the lyrics of the existing tracks Poor Unfortunate Souls and Kiss the Girl, which are both updated to reflect more modern attitudes.

Read on for the full list of songs that appear in The Little Mermaid – and the details of which cast members are performing them.

The Little Mermaid 2023 soundtrack

Halle Bailey's Ariel and Jonah Hauer-King's Prince Eric in The Little Mermaid
Halle Bailey's Ariel and Jonah Hauer-King's Prince Eric in The Little Mermaid. Disney

All music written by Alan Menken, with original song lyrics by Howard Ashman and new songs by Lin-Manuel Miranda.

  • Triton's Kingdom – instrumental
  • Part of Your World – performed by Halle Bailey
  • Fathoms Below – performed by Jonah Hauer-King, John Dagleish, Christopher Fairbank and Ensemble
  • Part of Your World (Reprise) – performed by Halle Bailey
  • Under the Sea –performed by Daveed Diggs and Cast
  • Wild Uncharted Waters – performed by Jonah Hauer-King
  • Poor Unfortunate Souls – performed by Melissa McCarthy
  • For the First Time – performed by Halle Bailey
  • Kiss the Girl – performed by Daveed Diggs, Awkwafina, Jacob Tremblay and Ensemble
  • The Scuttlebutt – performed by Awkwafina and Daveed Diggs
  • Eric's Decision – instrumental
  • Vanessa's Trick – instrumental
  • Part of Your World (Reprise II) – performed by Halle Bailey
  • Kiss the Girl (Island Band Reprise) – instrumental
  • Finale – instrumental

Listen to The Little Mermaid soundtrack on Amazon Music.

The Little Mermaid will arrive in cinemas on Friday 26th May 2023. Check out the best movies on Disney Plus and best shows on Disney Plus, read more of our Film coverage, or visit our TV Guide and Streaming Guide to see what's on tonight.


Try Radio Times magazine today and get 12 issues for only £1 with delivery to your home – subscribe now. For more from the biggest stars in TV, listen to The Radio Times Podcast.