Sally Rooney's first novel Conversations with Friends has been adapted into a 12-part series, following the recording breaking success of its predecessor, Normal People (based on Rooney's second book).


The series centres on students and best friends Frances (newcomer Alison Oliver) and Bobbi (American Honey’s Sasha Lane), who are seduced by the glamorous, adult world of writer Melissa (Sex Education’s Jemima Kirke) and her handsome husband Nick (The Favourite’s Joe Alwyn), as the group forms a complicated ‘ménage à quatre’

In addition to verbal sparring and sun-drenched scenes as the four go on holiday, the series also has a dreamy soundtrack, boasting a brand new song by Phoebe Bridgers, titled sidelines, which she penned especially for the series.

Read on for the Conversations with Friends soundtrack.

Conversations with Friends soundtrack

Conversations with Friends
Frances in Conversations with Friends BBC

Conversations with Friends episode 1

  • I Don’t Really Care for You by CMA
  • Let It All Go by The Sei
  • Used by Wyvern Lingo

Conversations with Friends episode 2

  • Run the Track by Cosha
  • Wavey by Cliq ft. Alika
  • All My Days by Alexi Murdoch
  • Want to Keep by ELIZZA

Conversations with Friends episode 3

  • Jaloux de tout by Benjamin Biolay
  • Nod by Julianna Barwick Feat. Nosaj Thing
  • Michelangelo by Cassandra Jenkins

Conversations with Friends episode 4

  • When You Were Mine by Joy Crookes
  • Meet Me At Our Spot by THE ANXIETY, WILLOW & Tyler Cole

Conversations with Friends episode 5

  • Nod by Julianna Barwick Feat. Nosaj Thing
  • Atmosphere by James Blake

Conversations with Friends episode 6

  • Uncatena by Sylvan Esso
  • it would feel like this by girl in red
  • Dreaming by Maria Somerville

Conversations with Friends episode 7

  • First Love/Late Spring by Mitski
  • Salt Licorice (with Robyn) [Thomas Gold Remix] by Jónsi
  • The Slow Drug by PJ Harvey
  • Here by Shiv
Jemima Kirke and Sasha Lane in Conversations with Friends
Jemima Kirke and Sasha Lane in Conversations with Friends Element Pictures/Enda Bowe,Enda Bowe

Conversations with Friends episode 8

  • Aye (Boku Remix) by Tolü Makay
  • Peach, Plum, Pear by Joanna Newsom
  • Peach, Plum, Pear (cover) by The McTague Twins
  • Flight by Michiru Aoyama

Conversations with Friends episode 9

  • More Than This by Roxy Music

Conversations with Friends episode 10

  • Cornflake Girl (Reworked Greatist Hits Version) by Tori Amos
  • Just a Girl by Wyvern Lingo Feat. Loah

The series also features the brand new track by Phoebe Bridgers, titled sidelines, and which she penned especially for Conversations with Friends. You can listen to it here.

Want to know what we thought of the drama? Check out our Conversations with Friends review.

Conversations with Friends was released on Sunday 15th May 2022, appearing on BBC One, BBC Three and BBC iPlayer for UK viewers. Viewers based in the US can watch the 12-part series on Hulu.

You can order the novel on Amazon. Looking for something to watch in the meantime? Check out our TV Guide or visit our dedicated Drama hub for the latest news.


The latest issue of Radio Times magazine is on sale now – subscribe now and get the next 12 issues for only £1. For more from the biggest stars in TV, listen to the Radio Times podcast with Jane Garvey.