Sports Personality of the Year 2013

Sports Personality of the Year 2013
Radio Times
Review by:
James Gill

After the highs of 2012, there was a danger this year would be a let-down. One glance at the shortlist shows it’s been anything but. Leigh Halfpenny and the British and Irish Lions won a tour for the first time in 16 years; Ian Bell helped England retain the Ashes; Hannah Cockroft and Mo Farah secured world championship doubles. Success has kept coming.

So why is the Sports Personality ceremony in danger of being an anticlimax? Quite simply because it’s almost impossible to see anyone winning other than Andy Murray: a result involving a British tennis star has never been so nailed on. His summer began with a remarkable BBC profile – The Man behind the Racquet – and ended in Wimbledon glory. Seventy-seven years of hurt overturned.

You might recall that during 2012’s ceremony the live video link to Murray was comically botched. Lennox Lewis ended up snatching the third-place trophy back in an awkward game of Tug o’ Camera. Let’s just hope that for 2013 the Scot can be there in person

About this programme

Gary Lineker, Gabby Logan and Clare Balding present this year's ceremony live from the First Direct Arena in Leeds, where several previous winners will be in attendance to mark the 60th anniversary of the show, and the successor to Sir Bradley Wiggins will be crowned. The 10 contenders for the main prize are Wimbledon champion Andy Murray, Tour de France victor Chris Froome, America's Cup sailor Ben Ainslie, athletics gold medallists Mo Farah, Christine Ohuruogu and Hannah Cockroft, England cricketer Ian Bell, British & Irish Lions hero Leigh Halfpenny, record-breaking jockey AP McCoy and US Open golf champion Justin Rose. In addition to the main prize, awards will be handed out in categories such as Team of the Year and Coach of the Year, while the 60th Anniversary Diamond Award will be given to a sporting legend, and the Helen Rollason Award will be bestowed upon someone who epitomises courage and has the ability to inspire others. Subsequent programmes subject to change.

Cast and crew


Gary Lineker
Gabby Logan
Clare Balding


Alastair McIntyre
Executive Editor
Carl Doran
Executive Producer
Paul Davies

Add new comment

Ads by Google