The Sapphires

Video clips are automatically supplied by broadcasters and distributors. is not responsible for the clip's contents.
The Sapphires

Wayne Blair (2012)

PG Certificate


Our Score
Four young Aboriginal women overcome significant obstacles in 1968 to pursue their girl group dreams in this hugely engaging comedy drama inspired by a 2005 play that author Tony Briggs wrote about his mother and three aunts. The quartet is spotted in a dust bowl Australian town by talent show emcee and chancer Dave (Chris O'Dowd), who agrees to be their manager and take them on a tour of Vietnam to entertain US marines with classic soul music. Director Wayne Blair navigates matters of racism and social revolution to provide a model feel-good movie that sparkles with heartfelt humour, terrific stage turns by all four women (including Deborah Mailman of Rabbit-Proof Fence) and a hit-packed Stax/Motown soundtrack. It's all anchored by a snappily sarcastic O'Dowd whose scene-stealing performance is a revelation, but this is a poignant story, too, with a moving tribute to the real-life "dream girls", pictured in the closing credits. The perfect crescendo to a rousing film.


An Irish music manager discovers four Aboriginal Australian singers in a remote mission in the 1960s, and plans to turn them into their country's answer to the Supremes. The naive girls face a challenging journey to stardom when they are sent to entertain American troops in the Vietnam War. Drama, starring Deborah Mailman and Chris O'Dowd.

Cast & Crew

Dave Chris O'Dowd
Gail Deborah Mailman
Julie Jessica Mauboy
Kay Shari Sebbens
Cynthia Miranda Tapsell
Robby Tory Kittles
Hendo Eka Darville
Nanny Theresa Lynette Narkle
Geraldine Kylie Belling
Selwyn Gregory J Fryer
Myron Ritchie Don Battée
Lt Jenson T J Power
Young Gail Tanika Lonesborough
Young Kay Nioka Brennan
Director Wayne Blair
see more

Other Information

Language: EnglishColourTheatrical distributor: Entertainment OneGuidance: Some swearing and sexual situations.Available on: DVDReleased on: 2 Nov 2012