Benedict Cumberbatch’s The Imitation Game is already a Hollywood award winner

The Alan Turing biopic wins Best Picture at the Capri, Hollywood International Film Festival in Italy, the first of a busy awards season for the British film and its Sherlock star

It’s not quite the Oscars, but The Imitation Game starring Benedict Cumberbatch has had its first awards nod of 2015 at the Capri, Hollywood International Film Festival.


The biopic of code-breaker Alan Turing won Best Picture at the Italy film festival, in what is set to be a busy awards year for the British film and its Sherlock star. The Imitation Game’s director Morten Tyldum also earned an award on the Italian coast.

Best Actor also went to a British actor, with Timothy Spall winning the accolade for his role in Mr Turner. The Hobbit and The Musketeers English actor Ryan Gage won the Breakout Actor award. 

Many of the award winners are also tipped for Oscars and Bafta glory in 2015 – Cumberbatch has already been nominated for Best Actor in the Golden Globes – and the festival’s producer Pascal Vicedomini was keen to point out the strength of the field at the Capri, Hollywood festival.

“This year, Capri, Hollywood was able to present the best of this cinematic season, many of which are contenders for year-end honours including the Golden Globes, the Baftas and the Academy Awards,” he said.

Here is the complete list of the Capri, Hollywood International Film Festival winners.

Best Picture
The Imitation Game

Best Actor
Timothy Spall, Mr. Turner

Best Actress
(tie) Jennifer Aniston, Cake
Amy Adams, Big Eyes

Best Director
Morten Tyldum, The Imitation Game

Visionary Award

Family Award

Animated Movie of the Year
Big Hero 6

Best Foreign Film
Ida (Poland)

Rising Stars
Ellar Coltrane (Boyhood)
Gugu Mbatha-Raw (Beyond The Lights)

Breakout Actors
Ryan Gage (The Hobbit)
Eline Powell (Quartet)

Cult Awards
Luca Zingaretti
Nastassja Kinsky

Mediterranean Awards
Marco D’Amore (Gomorra)
Moran Atias (Third Person)

European Film of the Year
Human Capital

Best European Movie
L’arte della felicità

Educational Award
Anita B.

The Italian American Icon Award
David O. Russell

Lifetime Achievement Award
Brenda Blethyn


The Capri Legend Award
Francesco De Gregori