The White House Farm Murders

The White House Farm Murders

Series 1



The White House Farm murders in Essex – the massacre of five people, including six-year-old twin boys – became a cause célèbre in 1985. The killings were perfect press fodder – the murderer was initially thought to be fragile Sheila Caffell, a former model with mental health issues. Police believed Sheila (played here by Cressida Bonas) killed her family, including her parents, before turning the gun on herself.

But the story was to take an entirely different direction when detectives focused on Jeremy Bamber, Sheila’s brother. Freddie Fox is excellent as Bamber, a man who does a very good job of seeming to be torn apart by the slaying of his entire family.

Mark Addy is a dogged detective who refuses to believe Sheila could wreak such dreadful mayhem, while Stephen Graham, with a distractingly bad Welsh accent, is the jobsworth cop who wants the whole thing cleared up, fast.


Six-part drama based on the true story of the mass murder of a family in an Essex farmhouse in August 1985, providing a fresh insight into these tragic events. In the early hours of August 7th 1985, Nevill and June Bamber were shot and killed inside their farmhouse, along with their adoptive daughter, Sheila Caffell, and Sheila's six-year-old twin sons, Daniel and Nicholas Caffell. Police receive a call from the only surviving member of June and Nevill's immediate family, their adoptive son Jeremy. At first, it appears to be an open-and-shut case to investigating officer DCI Thomas 'Taff' Jones, but for DS Stan Jones, something does not feel right.

Cast & Crew

Jeremy Bamber Freddie Fox
Brett Collins Alfie Allen
French Heiress Lucile Jaillant
DS Stan Jones Mark Addy
Forensics Expert Paul Bridle
Acting CS Mike Ainsley David Kennedy
DC Mick Clark Scott Reid
DCI Thomas 'Taff' Jones Stephen Graham
DI Ron Cook Andrew Frame
DI Cresswell Dorian Lough
Julie Mugford Alexa Davies
Sally Jones Millie Brady
Colin Caffell Mark Stanley
Geoffrey Rivlin QC Anthony Calf
Anthony Arlidge QC Richard Lintern
Clerk of the Court Elizabeth Hill
Mr Justice Drake David Horovitch
Ann Eaton Gemma Whelan
Peter Eaton Oliver Dimsdale
David Boutflour Richard Goulding
Director Paul Whittington
Executive Producer Willow Grylls
Executive Producer Charles Pattinson
Executive Producer Elaine Pyke
Executive Producer Kris Mrksa
Producer Kris Mrksa
Writer Kris Mrksa
see more
Drama Education