Walking Through History: Bronte Country

Walking Through History: Bronte Country

Series 4



Tony Robinson walks that well-trodden literary path along the south Pennine moors to Haworth in West Yorkshire, home of the Brontë sisters, Charlotte, Emily and Anne.

There can’t be a northerner who has never run across those very tussocks on school trips yelling “HEATHCLIFF!” but Robinson is admirably restrained. Though it’s been told so many times, there’s still something fantastically, tragically winning, something that calls to anyone who loves literature, in the story of the girls, their brother Branwell, and their home, the Parsonage.

Along the way Robinson meets Brontë experts and reads apposite excerpts from Jane Eyre and Wuthering Heights, though he’s not a fan of the latter. It’s too “overwrought and complex”. Really?


Tony Robinson embarks on another expedition through some of Britain's most historic landscapes. The moors and valleys of West Yorkshire were the home of, and inspiration for, the Brontes, the literary family who produced such classics as Wuthering Heights and Jane Eyre. Over four days, Tony heads out from the Victorian wool capital of Bradford and treks in a giant loop around what is now known as Bronte Country. From the birth of Charlotte, Emily, Anne and their brother Branwell in the suburb of Thornton, he traces their childhoods to the much-romanticised Bronte hub of Haworth, finding that the harsh reality of life in the 1820s was far removed from the fantasy world dreamed up by the children at their father's parsonage home.

Cast & Crew

Presenter Tony Robinson
Director James Franklin
Executive Producer Philip Clarke
Producer James Franklin
Series Producer Owen Rodd