Radio 3 in Concert

A Heroic Journey

A Heroic Journey



Martin Handley presents from the Royal Festival Hall at London's Southbank Centre as Vasily Petrenko leads Denis Kozhukhin and the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra in Brahms' Piano Concerto No 1, and Richard Strauss's Ein Heldenleben. This concert marks the first London appearance of Vasily Petrenko with the RPO since the orchestra's announcement to appoint him as music director for 2021-2022. Piano virtuoso Denis Kozhukhin is soloist in Brahms' dramatic Piano Concerto No 1, a piece that encompasses music of brooding power and romantic tenderness, and the composer's first orchestral work to win favour with audiences. Richard Strauss' epic tone poem Ein Heldenleben is one of his signature masterpieces, containing numerous references to his earlier works, including Also sprach Zarathustra, Till Eulenspiegel, and Death and Transfiguration. Written in response to Beethoven's Third Symphony Eroica, this musical marathon vividly depicts the story of a hero grappling with life's adversities, before culminating in a thrilling finale. Brahms: Piano Concerto No 1. 8.20 Interval. Richard Strauss: Ein Heldenleben. Denis Kozhukhin (piano), Royal Philharmonic Orchestra, Vasily Petrenko (conductor).

Cast & Crew

Presenter Martin Handley