Edinburgh International Festival 2017

Joshua Bell & Dénes Várjon

Joshua Bell & Dénes Várjon



Jamie MacDougall presents live from the Queen's Hall as American violinist Joshua Bell is accompanied by Hungarian pianist Dénes Várjon in performances of pieces by Mendelssohn, Brahms and Grieg. Virtuoso Bell begins his three-concert residency at the International Festival along with his regular chamber music collaborator Várjon, playing three great romantic sonatas of the violin repertoire. Mendelssohn: Violin Sonata in F. Brahms: Violin Sonata No. 1 in G major, Op. 78. c 11.50 Interval. Jamie MacDougall presents anthems by Buxtehude and Purcell sung by countertenor Iestyn Davies, who will be appearing in the Queen's Hall series with the Academy of Ancient Music this week. 12.10 Grieg: Sonata No 3 in C minor, Op 45. Joshua Bell (violin), Dénes Várjon (piano).

Cast & Crew

Presenter Jamie MacDougall
Producer Lindsay Pell