Perilous Waters and Dark Passions


Jonathan Swain presents a sequence of music, beginning with Vasily Petrenko conducting the Oslo Philharmonic Orchestra in a programme of Smyth, Gershwin, and Walton. Smyth: Overture from The Wreckers; Gershwin: Piano Concerto in F; Schulhoff: Chanson from Esquisses de jazz; Walton: Symphony No 1 in B flat minor. Louis Schwizgebel (piano), Oslo Philharmonic Orchestra, Vasily Petrenko (conductor). 2.04 Zemlinsky: Trio for clarinet, cello and piano, Op 3. 2.31 De la Rue: Missa Sancto Job. 3.06 Noskowski: The Steppes, Op 66, symphonic poem. 3.26 Puccini: Excerpts from La Bohème. 3.35 Handel: Ballet music from Terpsichore. 3.47 Poulenc: Sonata for oboe and piano. 4.01 Gipps: Seascape, Op 53. 4.07 Bach: Singet dem Herrn ein neues Lied, BWV 225. 4.21 Sarasate: Zigeunerweisen, Op 20, vers. for violin and orchestra. 4.31 Scarlatti: Toccata per cembalo, in G minor/major. 4.39 Respighi: Ancient Airs and Dances - Suite No 2. 4.57 Ruth Watson Henderson: Psalm 150 - for SATB choir, 2 trumpets and organ. 5.01 Mozart: 5 movements from Les petits riens ballet music, K 299b. 5.11 Lars-Erik Larsson: Croquiser, Op 38. 5.24 Telemann: Trio No 3 from Essercizii Musici, for violin, oboe and continuo. 5.35 Dvorak: Wind Serenade in D minor, Op 44. 5.59 Chopin: Cello Sonata in G minor, Op 65

All episodes

Advertisement is getting better.

Fresh new look, redesigned programme hub, richer content…