How to watch and live stream the Six Nations Championship 2019

Everything you need to know about the annual rugby union tournament

TOPSHOT - Ireland's centre Bundee Aki (L) and England's wing Elliot Daly (R) battle over the ball during the Six Nations international rugby union match between England and Ireland at the Twickenham, west London, on March 17, 2018. (Photo by Glyn KIRK / AFP)        (GLYN KIRK/AFP/Getty Images)

The Six Nations Championship is one of the biggest sporting events of the year, and will be guaranteed to excite and enthuse rugby fans across Europe and the world when it kicks off in February. The tournament will once again see England, France, Ireland, Italy, Scotland and Wales fight it out over six weeks of fabulous rugby union.


When is the Six Nations 2019?

The competition is played over the course of six weeks. Beginning on Friday, 1st February, matches will run until Saturday 16th March – ‘Super Saturday’ – when all three matches of the final round will take place.

Where does the Six Nations take place?

The fixtures for the Six Nations take place across each of the countries. The venues are Twickenham Stadium, the Principality Stadium in Cardiff, Murrayfield Stadium in Edinburgh, Aviva Stadium in Dublin, Stade de France in Paris, and Stadio Olimpico in Rome.

When are matches played in UK time?

The fixtures are at varying times over the course of the tournament, but will usually take place in the afternoon, with two matches on the Saturday and one on the Sunday.

Check out the full fixtures with UK times below:

Round One

France v Wales, Friday 1st February, 8.00pm (Paris) – BBC

Scotland v Italy, Saturday 2nd February, 2.15pm (Edinburgh) – BBC

Ireland v England, Saturday 2nd February, 4.45pm (Dublin) – ITV

Round Two

Scotland v Ireland, Saturday 9th February, 2.15pm (Edinburgh) – BBC

Italy v Wales, Saturday 9th February, 4.45pm (Rome) – ITV

England v France, Sunday 10th February, 3.00pm (Twickenham) – ITV

Round Three

France v Scotland, Saturday 23rd February, 2.15pm (Paris) – BBC

Wales v England, Saturday 23rd February, 4.45pm (Cardiff) – BBC

Italy v Ireland, Sunday 24th February, 3.00pm (Rome) – ITV

Round Four

Scotland v Wales, Saturday 9th March, 2.15pm (Edinburgh) – BBC

England v Italy, Saturday 9th March, 4.45pm (Twickenham) – ITV

Ireland v France, Sunday 10th March, 3.00pm (Dublin) – ITV

Round Five

Italy v France, Saturday 16th March, 12.30pm (Rome) – ITV

Wales v Ireland, Saturday 16th March, 2.45pm (Cardiff) – BBC

England v Scotland, Saturday 16th March, 5.00pm (Twickenham) – ITV

How can I watch and stream the Six Nations live in the UK?

For fans in the UK, all of the matches will be available to watch live on BBC and ITV (see times and channels above).

BBC games will also be available to stream on the BBC Website and BBC iPlayer, with ITV games available to stream through the ITV Hub

CARDIFF, WALES - MARCH 17: George North of Wales is tackled by Mathieu Bastareaud of France and Mathieu Babillot of France during the NatWest Six Nations match between Wales and France at Principality Stadium on March 17, 2018 in Cardiff, Wales. (Photo by Michael Steele/Getty Images)

How can I watch the Six Nations in the US?

For fans in America, all of the matches in the championship will be broadcast and streamed on NBC and streamed on NBC Sports Gold.

How can I watch the Six Nations elsewhere?

All of the Wales games will be broadcast live, in Welsh, on S4C. For viewers in France, all games will be shown on France Télévisions. In Ireland, they will be shown live on Virgin Media One and Virgin Media Sport, and in Italy all games will be shown live on DMAX.

Who won the Six Nations Championship in 2018?

The current champions are Ireland, who won the championship in 2018. They beat England to win the Grand Slam, having beaten all the other teams during the competition.

What does the Grand Slam mean in the Six Nations?

A team that wins all its games throughout the Six Nations wins the Grand Slam. The Grand Slam has been won by England 13 times, Wales 11 times, France 9 times, and both Ireland and Scotland 3 times. Italy are yet to have won the Grand Slam.

What does the Triple Crown mean in the Six Nations?

The Triple Crown can only be won by England, Scotland, Wales and Ireland. This is when one nation wins all three of their games against the others. England currently holds the most Triple Crown wins at 25, followed by Wales at 20, Ireland at 12, and Scotland at 10.

Which team has won the Six Nations the most times?

With 6 wins, England has won the Six Nations the most times. This is followed by France with 5 wins, and Ireland and Wales with 4 wins.

Which team won the most Five Nations titles?

England won the most with 17, followed by Wales (15), France (12), Ireland (6) and Scotland (4).

LONDON, ENGLAND - MARCH 17: Anthony Watson of England fumbles the ball while later leads to Ireland scoring a try during NatWest Six Nations match between England and Ireland at Twickenham Stadium on March 17, 2018 in London, England. (Photo by Shaun Botterill/Getty Images)

When did the tournament change its name from the Five Nations?

When it was established in 1883, the tournament was originally the Home Nations Championship comprised of England, Ireland, Scotland and Wales. This became the Five Nations when France joined in 1910, though it briefly reverted back to the Home Nations between 1932 and 1939. The tournament eventually changed it name from the Five Nations to the Six Nations in 2000, when Italy joined the championship.

Who are the favourites to win the Six Nations in 2019?

Following on from their win in 2018, Ireland are favourites, with England and Wales also looking hopeful.


How can I get tickets to the Six Nations matches?

Tickets can be bought from each rugby union for their respective matches, and those wishing to travel can purchase hospitality packages. If you are lucky enough, you may also be able to win tickets by filling out a form. More information can be found on the Six Nations website.