British Soap Awards 2017 – full shortlist sees EastEnders miss out in Best Actor Category

There are a few surprises on this year's list of nominations


EastEnders has missed out in the Best Actor category at this year’s British Soap Awards, with Davood Ghadami, Scott Maslen and Danny Dyer failing to make the leap from the longlist to the shortlist.


The Walford-set drama does feature elsewhere, with the deaths of Ronnie and Roxy as well as Lee’s mental health storyline all featuring, though stiff competition comes from its rival soaps.

Ashley’s dementia plotline earns nods for John Middleton and Charlotte Bellamy, while Michelle’s baby loss on Coronation Street sees Kym Marsh and Simon Gregson get nominations.

Hollyoaks features with Jade’s death from cancer, while Jamie Lomas and Gregory Finnegan both feature in the Best Actor category. Plus the charting of Emma Reid on her path of self-destruction on Doctors also makes the shortlist.

The British Soap Awards will return to ITV on Saturday 3 June and will be broadcast live for the first time in the show’s history. The 19th annual awards will take place in Manchester at the Lowry Theatre and will be hosted by Phillip Schofield.


Viewer Voted Categories:

BEST BRITISH SOAP (Last year’s winner was Emmerdale)

Coronation Street





BEST ACTOR (Last year’s winner was Danny Miller – Emmerdale)

Jack P Shepherd (Coronation Street, David Platt)

Danny Miller (Emmerdale, Aaron Dingle)

John Middleton (Emmerdale, Ashley Thomas)

Jamie Lomas (Hollyoaks, Warren Fox)

Gregory Finnegan (Hollyoaks, James Nightingale)


BEST ACTRESS (Last year’s winner was Lacey Turner – EastEnders)

Kym Marsh (Coronation Street, Michelle Connor)

Lucy Fallon (Coronation Street, Bethany Platt)

Lacey Turner (EastEnders, Stacey Fowler)

Charlotte Bellamy (Emmerdale, Laurel Thomas)

Anna Passey (Hollyoaks, Sienna Blake)

Panel Voted Categories:

VILLAIN OF THE YEAR (Last year’s winner was Connor McIntyre – Coronation Street)

Connor McIntyre (Coronation Street, Pat Phelan)

Lucy-Jo Hudson (Doctors, Rhiannon Davis)

Jake Wood (EastEnders, Max Branning)

Gillian Kearney (Emmerdale, Emma Barton)

Persephone Swales-Dawson (Hollyoaks, Nico Blake)

BEST COMEDY PERFORMANCE (Last year’s winner was Patti Clare – Coronation Street)

Dolly-Rose Campbell (Coronation Street, Gemma Winter)

Elisabeth Dermot Walsh (Doctors, Dr Zara Carmichael)

Tameka Empson (EastEnders, Kim Fox-Hubbard)

Dominic Brunt (Emmerdale, Paddy Kirk)

Nicole Barber Lane (Hollyoaks, Myra McQueen)


BEST NEWCOMER (Last year’s winner was Bonnie Langford – EastEnders)

Rob Mallard (Coronation Street, Daniel Osbourne)

Ritu Aryu (Doctors, Dr Megan Sharma)

Zack Morris (EastEnders, Keegan Baker)

Sally Dexter (Emmerdale, Faith Dingle)

Duncan James (Hollyoaks, Ryan Knight)

BEST STORYLINE (Last year’s winner was Stacey’s Postpartum Psychosis – EastEnders)

The Grooming of Bethany, Coronation Street

Rhiannon’s Second Chance, Doctors

Lee’s Mental Health, EastEnders

Ashley’s Dementia, Emmerdale

Teenage Cancer, Hollyoaks

BEST SINGLE EPISODE (Last year’s winner was Doctors – The Heart of England)

Kylie’s Death, Coronation Street

A Christmas Carol, Doctors

Lee On The Edge, EastEnders

Ashley’s Point Of View, Emmerdale

What Is Consent? Hollyoaks


BEST MALE DRAMATIC PERFORMANCE (Last year’s winner was Danny Miller – Emmerdale)

Simon Gregson (Coronation Street, Steve McDonald)

Ian Midlane (Doctors, Dr Al Haskey)

Steve McFadden(EastEnders, Phil Mitchell)

John Middleton (Emmerdale, Ashley Thomas)

Kieron Richardson (Hollyoaks, Ste Hay)

BEST FEMALE DRAMATIC PERFORMANCE (Last year’s winner was Lacey Turner – EastEnders)

Kym Marsh (Coronation Street, Michelle Connor)

Dido Miles (Doctors Dr Emma Reid)

Diane Parish (EastEnders, Denise Fox)

Charlotte Bellamy (Emmerdale Laurel Thomas)

Nadine Mulkerrin (Hollyoaks, Cleo McQueen)         

BEST ON-SCREEN PARTNERSHIP (Last year’s winners were Sally Dynevor & Joe Duttine – Coronation Street)

Malcolm Hebden & Patti Clare (Coronation Street, Norris Cole & Mary Taylor)

Matthew Chambers & Elisabeth Dermot Walsh (Doctors, Dr Daniel Granger & Dr Zara Carmichael)

James Bye & Lacey Turner (EastEnders, Martin & Stacey Fowler)

John Middleton & Charlotte Bellamy (Emmerdale, Ashley & Laurel Thomas)

Richard Linnell & Kassius Nelson (Hollyoaks, Alfie Nightingale & Jade Albright)                                                               

BEST YOUNG ACTOR (Last year’s winner was Ruby O’Donnell – Hollyoaks)

Elle Mulvaney (Coronation Street, Amy Barlow)

Bleu Landau (EastEnders, Dennis Rickman)

Isobel Steele (Emmerdale, Liv Flaherty)

Ela May Demircan (Hollyoaks, Leah Barnes)

SCENE OF THE YEAR (Last year’s winner was Val’s Death – Emmerdale)

Michelle’s Goodbye To Ruairi, Coronation Street

Haunted By His Voices, Doctors

Ronnie & Ronnie’s Exit, EastEnders

The Hotten Bypass Pile Up, Emmedale

Jade Says Goodbye To Alfie , Hollyoaks