Trainspotting sequel cast confirmed with Ewan McGregor and Jonny Lee Miller set to return

Director Danny Boyle has finally got the original cast back together for a follow-up to his 1996 breakthrough film

The cast of the Trainspotting sequel has been confirmed —  and the five main cast members from the 1996 film, Ewan McGregor, Ewen Bremner, Robert Carlyle, Kelly Macdonald and Jonny Lee Miller, are returning.


Director Danny Boyle says the new film will be “very loosely based on” Irvine Welsh’s novel Porno – the sequel to Trainspotting.

In 2013, Boyle told Radio Times about his plans for a second instalment of the film, saying that 2016 would be the perfect time for the sequel, and that he was confident the cast would return.

“All we’ve got to do is get a decent script out of John, get the actors together, get Irvine to sign off on it and agree to play a small part, and we’re there! What could be easier?”


As well as the original actors returning for the film, screenwriter John Hodge will return to pen the new script for Boyle to direct. Filming will begin in late spring 2016 and is expected to be released in 2017.