British Soap Awards 2015: full nominations shortlist revealed

Storylines including Lucy's murder in EastEnders, Donna's demise on Emmerdale, Corrie's mental health focus on Steve, plus the Hollyoaks train crash all get recognised


The shortlist for this year’s British Soap Awards has been released and EastEnders stars Danny Dyer and Adam Woodyatt are set to go head to head for Best Actor, while Kellie Bright and Laurie Brett will both vie for Best Actress.


Prominent storylines in contention at the 17th annual awards include Steve McDonald’s mental health plight from Coronation Street and Ste’s HIV diagnosis in Hollyoaks. Donna’s cancer and demise in Emmerdale is also featured in several categories including Best On-Screen Partnership (Verity Rushworth & Michael Parr) and Scene of the Year.

Back in March, the organisers of the British Soap Awards announced that they had ditched the Sexiest Male and Female prize in favour of a new category that rewards issue-based storylines.

Last year’s event saw Hollyoaks take the prize for Best British Soap, although the departure of Julie Hesmondhalgh from Coronation Street scooped the lion’s share of prizes at London’s Hackney Empire. Among the prizes for Hayley’s death were Best Actress for Hesmondhalgh herself, Best Actor for screen husband David Neilson (who plays Roy Cropper) and recognition for Storyline and Single Episode. 

This year’s British Soap Awards will be taking place at Manchester’s Palace Theatre on Saturday 16 May.

You can read the full list of nominees below:

BEST BRITISH SOAP (Last year’s winner was Hollyoaks)

Coronation Street

Viewer & Panel Voted Categories:

BEST ACTOR (Last year’s winner was David Neilson – Coronation Street)

Coronation Street: Simon Gregson (Steve McDonald)
Coronation Street: David Neilson    (Roy Cropper)
EastEnders: Danny Dyer (Mick Carter)
EastEnders: Adam Woodyatt (Ian Beale)
Emmerdale: Michael Parr (Ross Barton)

BEST ACTRESS (Last year’s winner was Julie Hesmondhalgh – Coronation Street)

Coronation Street: Alison King (Carla Connor)
EastEnders: Kellie Bright (Linda Carter)
EastEnders: Laurie Brett (Jane Beale)
Emmerdale: Natalie Anderson (Alicia Metcalfe)
Hollyoaks: Nikki Sanderson (Maxine Minniver)

Panel Voted Categories:

VILLAIN OF THE YEAR (Last year’s winner was Anna Passey – Hollyoaks)

Coronation Street: Sean Ward (Callum Logan)
Doctors: Daniel Schutzmann (Franc Christophe)
EastEnders: John Altman (Nick Cotton)
Emmerdale: Ryan Hawley (Robert Sugden)
Hollyoaks: Jeremy Sheffield (Patrick Blake)

BEST COMEDY PERFORMANCE (Last year’s winner was Simon Gregson – Coronation Street)

Coronation Street: Sally Dynevor (Sally Webster)
Doctors: Sarah Moyle (Valerie Pitman)
EastEnders: Tameka Empson (Kim Fox-Hubbard)
Emmerdale: Laura Norton (Kerry Wyatt)
Hollyoaks: Fabrizio Santino (David ‘Ziggy’ Roscoe)

BEST NEWCOMER (Last year’s winner was Maddy Hill – EastEnders)

Coronation Street: Sean Ward (Callum Logan)
Doctors: Jessica Regan (Niamh Donoghue)
EastEnders: Davood Ghadami (Kush Kazemi)
Emmerdale: Ryan Hawley (Robert Sugden)
Hollyoaks: Twinnie-Lee Moore (Porsche McQueen)

BEST STORYLINE (Last year’s winner was Hayley’s Cancer – Coronation Street)

Coronation Street: Steve and Michelle, Hearts And Minds 
Doctors: Kevin And Poppy (Underage Girlfriend)
EastEnders: Who Killed Lucy?
Emmerdale: Donna’s Demise
Hollyoaks: John Paul’s Rape Ordeal

BEST SINGLE EPISODE(Last year’s winner was Hayley’s Death – Coronation Street)

Coronation Street: Rob’s Confession
Doctors: Unfinished Business
EastEnders: Episode 5020 – Live Episode
Emmerdale: Andy Goes To The Brink
Hollyoaks: Ste’s HIV Diagnosis

BEST DRAMATIC PERFORMANCE (Last year’s winner was David Neilson – Coronation Street

Coronation Street: Simon Gregson (Steve McDonald)
Doctors: Lorna Laidlaw (Mrs Tembe)
EastEnders: Kellie Bright (Linda Carter)
Emmerdale: Natalie Anderson (Alicia Metcalfe)
Hollyoaks: Keith Rice (Finn O’Connor)  

BEST ON-SCREEN PARTNERSHIP(Last year’s winner was David Neilson & Julie Hesmondhalgh)

Coronation Street: Sally Dynevor & Joe Duttine (Sally Webster & Tim Metcalfe)
Doctors: Ian Midlane & Jessica Regan (Al Haskey & Niamh Donoghue)
EastEnders: Laurie Brett & Adam Woodyatt (Jane Beale & Ian Beale)
Emmerdale: Verity Rushworth & Michael Parr (Donna Windsor & Ross Barton)
Hollyoaks: Ellis Hollins & Ruby O’Donnell (Tom Cunningham & Peri Lomax)      

BEST YOUNG PERFORMANCE (Last year’s winner was Ellis Hollins – Hollyoaks)

Coronation Street: Ellie Leach (Faye Windass)
Doctors: Jack Carroll (Peter Harker)
EastEnders: Eliot Carrington (Bobby Beale)
Emmerdale: Amelia Flanagan (April Windsor)
Hollyoaks: Ruby O’Donnell (Peri Lomax)  

SCENE OF THE YEAR (Last year’s winner was The Woolpack Flood and Siege – Emmerdale)

Coronation Street: Deirdre Throws The Trifle
Doctors: Strictly Dancing
EastEnders: Kathy Comes Home
Emmerdale: Donna’s Goodbye
Hollyoaks: The Train Crash