Cannes Film Festival 2015 line-up announced

Michael Fassbender's Macbeth, Disney Pixar's Inside Out and Woody Allen's latest film will all feature in the 68th annual festival held in the south of France

The 68th Cannes Film Festival will welcome the likes of Michael Fassbender, Cate Blanchett and Michael Caine on to the red carpet after festival head Thierry Frémaux unveiled this year’s line-up earlier today.


Announcing 90% of the 2015 programme, Frémaux revealed a new adaptation of Macbeth – which stars Fassbender opposite Marion Cotillard – will screen in competition for the coveted Palm d’Or prize. The Shakespearean film is part of a hotly-contested category, competing against Carol (starring Cate Blanchett in a clandestine lesbian love affair) and The Lobster, a surrealist drama featuring Colin Farrell, Olivia Colman, Ben Whishaw and Rachel Weisz. 

Also in competition is Youth, an English-language film from The Great Beauty director Paulo Sorrentino, starring Michael Caine as an ageing composer, and The Sea of Trees, featuring 2013 Oscar-winner Matthew McConaughey as a man contemplating suicide.

Cannes will also welcome a number of high-profile features screening out of competition, including the previously-announced premiere of Mad Max: Fury Road, starring Tom Hardy and Charlize Theron, as well as Disney Pixar’s latest offering Inside Out and Woody Allen’s new flick Irrational Man, starring Emma Stone.

Other films to feature in the 12-day festival will include Amy, Asif Kapadia’s documentary about late singer Amy Winehouse in a midnight screening slot, and A Tale of Love and Darkness, the directorial debut of actress Natalie Portman. The festival will open with Standing Tall (La Tete haute), a coming-of-age tale following the life of a problematic young man from French actress-director Emmanuelle Bercot – the first time a female-directed film has opened Cannes since A Man in Love was screened in 1987.

The Un Certain Regard category – which previews films with an original or different style – announced 14 entries, with Isabella Rosselini overseeing the judging panel. 

Joel and Ethan Coen have already been announced as presidents of the jury at this year’s festival. Commenting at the time of their appointment, the brothers – responsible for a series of acclaimed features including Fargo and No Country for Old Men – said: “Presiding over the Jury is a special honour, since we have never heretofore been president of anything. We will issue further proclamations at the appropriate time.”

Speaking at a Paris press conference earlier, Frémaux added that the festival would work to limit the number of selfies taken on the red carpet. “We don’t want to prohibit it, but we want to slow down the process of selfies on the steps,” he said.

“We think it’s ridiculous and grotesque and really slows things down. You never look as ugly as you do in a selfie.”

This year’s Cannes Film Festival will run from 13-24 May. See the 2015 line-up so far below:


Standing Tall, Emmanuelle Bercot
Carol, Todd Haynes
Macbeth, Justin Kurzel
Dheepan, Jacques Audiard
La Loi du March, Stephane Brize
Marguerite and Julien, Valerie Donzelli
The Tale of Tales, Matteo Garrone
The Assassin, Hou Hsiao Hsien
Mountains May Depart, Jia Zhangke
Our Little Sister, Hirokazu Koreeda
The Lobster, Yorgos Lanthimos
Mon roie, Maiwenn 
Mia Madre, Nanni Moretti
Son of Saul, Laszlo Nemes
Youth, Paulo Sorrentino
Louder Than Bombs, Joachim Trier
Sea of Trees, Gus Van Sant 
Sicario, Denis Villeneuve


Mad Max: Fury Road, George Miller
Inside Out, Pete Docter, Ronaldo Del Carmen
Irrational Man, Woody Allen
The Little Prince, Mark Osborne


A Tale of Love and Darkness, Natalie Portman
Asphalte, Samuel Benchetrit
Panama, Pavle Vuckovic
Amnesia, Barbet Schroeder
Hayored Lema’Ala, Elad Keidan
Oka, Souleymane Cisse


Amy, Asif Kapadia
Office, Hong Won-Chan



Madonna, Shin Suwon
Maryland, Anna Winocour
The Fourth Direction, Gurvinder Singh
Masaan (Fly Away Solo), Neeraj Ghaywan
Hruter (Rams), Grimur Hakonarson
Kishibe No Tabi (Journey to the Shore), Kiyoshi
Je Suis Un Soldat (I Am a Soldier), Laurent Larivere
Zvizdan (The High Sun), Dalibor Matanic
The Other Side, Roberto Minervini
One Floor Below, Radu Muntean
Shameless, Oh Seung-Uk
The Chosen Ones, David Pablos
Nahid, Ida Panahandeh
The Treasure, Corneliu Porumboiu