Mark Kermode and Simon Mayo lead radio awards nominations

The Broadcasting Press Guild award winners will be revealed next month


The shortlist for the Broadcasting Press Guild awards has been unveiled, with film aficionados Mark Kermode and Simon Mayo (who predicted Oscar winners for Radio Times earlier this year) among those nominated for programme of the year for their 5 Live series.


Competing with the movie masters for radio programme of the year is LBC’s Duncan Barkes and British Museum director Neil MacGregor’s Germany: Memories of a Nation for Radio 4. Sean Rafferty, Geoff Lloyd and Woman’s Hour stalwart Jane Garvey make up the nominations for broadcaster of the year.

The radio awards will be presented on Friday March 13th, the same day as the BPG’s television awards, which will see NTA award-winner Sheridan Smith battle it out for best actress with Keeley Hawes and Sarah Lancashire.

The full list of nominees are below:

Radio Programme of the Year

Germany: Memories of a Nation (BBC Radio 4)

Duncan Barkes (LBC)

Kermode and Mayo’s Film Review (BBC Radio 5 Live).

Radio Broadcaster of the Year

Jane Garvey, Woman’s Hour (BBC Radio 4)

Sean Rafferty, In Tune (BBC Radio 3)


Geoff Lloyd, Geoff Lloyd’s Hometime Show (Absolute Radio).