Sherlock, Line of Duty and Happy Valley win big at Crime Thriller Awards 2014

Amanda Abbington, Keeley Hawes and Matthew McConaughey among winners at last night's awards ceremony

Line of Duty star Keeley Hawes walked away with the Best Actress award at last night’s Specsavers Crime Thriller Awards 2014. 


Matthew McConaughey scooped Best Actor for True Detective, while Sherlock star Amanda Abbington took home Best Supporting Actress for Sherlock. 

The night was hosted by Bradley Walsh in London and for the first time a whole series, ITV’s Midsomer Murders, was inducted in the hall of fame. 

Happy Valley had a great night with James Norton winning Best Supporting Actor and the show itself taking home Best TV series. True Detective also added Best International TV series to its trophy cabinet. 

This is the seventh year of the awards, with the ceremony being shown on ITV3 on Monday 27 October at 9pm. 

See the full list of winners below:


      Keeley Hawes for Line of Duty – Dagger for Best Actress       Matthew McConaughey for True Detective –  Dagger for Best Actor       James Norton for Happy Valley – Dagger for Best Supporting Actor       Amanda Abbington for Sherlock– Dagger for Best Supporting Actress       Happy Valley – Dagger for Best TV Series       True Detective– Dagger for Best International TV Series       Cold in July–  Dagger for Best Film       Peter May – Crime Thriller Book Club Best Read of the Year       Wiley Cash–  CWA Goldsboro Gold Dagger       Ray Celestin –  CWA John Creasey New Blood Dagger       Robert Harris –  CWA Ian Fleming Steel Dagger for Best Thriller of the Year       Denise Mina, Robert Harris and Midsomer Murders were inducted into the Hall of Fame