Voting opens for the National Television Awards 2015

It’s Cumberbatch v Freeman, Capaldi v Coleman, Sherlock v Doctor Who and Tess Daly v Claudia Winkleman as the public decide on TV’s most popular shows and personalities

Voting has now opened for the 2015 National Television Awards.


Whether it’s Benedict Cumberbatch competing with his Sherlock co-star Martin Freeman for the drama performance award or Doctor Who and Downton fighting it out for the best drama prize, the ceremony at London’s O2 always assembles the great and the good of British TV as the full shortlist (below) amply demonstrates.

Next year’s awards – which take place on 21st January and will be hosted once again by Dermot O’Leary – also have two new categories: for best skills challenge show and best TV judge.  

The awards are voted for by viewers, so have your say here

Chat Show Host

Adam Hills 
Alan Carr
Graham Norton 
Jonathan Ross 
Michael McIntyre 
Paul O’Grady 
Piers Morgan
Sarah Millican


Big School
Birds of a Feather
Citizen Khan
Mrs Brown’s Boys
Not Going Out
The Big Bang Theory
The Wrong Mans


Animal Saints and Sinners
Antiques Road Trip
Bargain Hunt
BBC Breakfast 
Coach Trip
Escape to the Country
Father Brown
Fifteen to One
Flog It!
Good Morning Britain
Homes Under the Hammer
Judge Rinder
Operation Hospital Food with James Martin
Points of View
Put Your Money Where Your Mouth Is
Saturday Kitchen Live 
The Chase
The Jeremy Kyle Show
The Legalizer
The Sheriffs Are Coming
The Wright Stuff
This Morning
Tipping Point
Wanted Down Under
WPC 56 

Drama Performance

Jack Donnelly – Atlantis
Sarah Parish – Atlantis
Helen George – Call the Midwife
Miranda Hart – Call the Midwife
Amanda Mealing – Casualty
Derek Thompson – Casualty
Sheridan Smith – Cilla
Stephen Tompkinson – DCI Banks
Anna Maxwell Martin – Death Comes to Pemberley
Matthew Rhys – Death Comes to Pemberley
Kris Marshall – Death in Paradise 
Peter Capaldi – Doctor Who
Jenna Coleman – Doctor Who 
Jim Carter – Downton Abbey
Michelle Dockery – Downton Abbey 
Joanne Froggatt – Downton Abbey
Dame Maggie Smith – Downton Abbey
Shaun Evans – Endeavour 
Robson Green – Grantchester 
James Norton – Grantchester 
Sarah Lancashire – Happy Valley 
Paul Bradley – Holby City
Rosie Marcel – Holby City
Hermione Norris – In the Club
Katherine Parkinson – In the Club
Martin Shaw – Inspector George Gently
Alan Davies – Jonathan Creek 
Sir Derek Jacobi – Last Tango in Halifax
Anne Reid – Last Tango in Halifax
Keeley Hawes – Line of Duty
Neil Dudgeon – Midsomer Murders
Katherine Kelly – Mr Selfridge
Jeremy Piven – Mr Selfridge 
Nicholas Lyndhurst – New Tricks 
Tamzin Outhwaite – New Tricks
Lee Ingleby – Our Zoo
John Simm – Prey / The Village
Suranne Jones – Scott & Bailey
Lesley Sharp – Scott & Bailey
Benedict Cumberbatch – Sherlock
Martin Freeman – Sherlock
Douglas Henshall – Shetland 
Emilia Fox – Silent Witness 
Clare-Hope Ashitey – Suspects
David Tennant – The Escape Artist
Maimie McCoy – The Musketeers
Luke Pasqualino – The Musketeers 
Reece Shearsmith – The Widower 
Maxine Peake – The Village
Brenda Blethyn – Vera 


Call the Midwife
DCI Banks
Death Comes to Pemberley
Death in Paradise
Doctor Who
Downton Abbey
Happy Valley
Holby City
In the Club
Inspector George Gently
Jonathan Creek
Last Tango in Halifax
Line of Duty
Marvel’s Agents of SHIELD
Midsomer Murders
Mr Selfridge
New Tricks
Our Zoo
Scott & Bailey
Silent Witness
The Escape Artist
The Musketeers
The Widower
The Village

Entertainment Presenter

Alexander Armstrong
Ant & Dec 
Bradley Walsh
Claudia Winkleman
Davina McCall
Dermot O’Leary
Emma Willis
Frank Skinner
Griff Rhys Jones
Holly Willoughby
Jack Whitehall
Jason Manford 
Jimmy Carr
Keith Lemon
Marvin Humes
Nick Knowles
Paddy McGuinness
Phillip Schofield
Reggie Yates
Rob Brydon
Stephen Mulhern
Tess Daly
Vernon Kay
Warwick Davis

Entertainment Programme

8 Out of 10 Cats
A Question of Sport
All New It’ll Be Alright on the Night
All Star Family Fortunes
All Star Mr & Mrs
Ant & Dec’s Saturday Night Takeaway
Big Star’s Little Star
Celebrity Big Brother
Celebrity Mastermind
Celebrity Squares
Have I Got News for You
I’m A Celebrity… Get Me Out Of Here!
Off Their Rockers
Only Connect 
Pointless Celebrities
Room 101
Sunday Night at the Palladium
Surprise Surprise
Take Me Out
The Chase: Celebrity Special
The Cube
The Guess List
The Jump
The National Lottery: Who Dares Wins
Through the Keyhole
University Challenge
Would I Lie to You?


Antiques Roadshow
Autopsy: The Last Hours Of Whitney Houston
Benefits Street
Britain’s Great War with Jeremy Paxman
DIY SOS: The Big Build 
Fake or Fortune?
John Bishop’s Australia
Long Lost Family
Nigel and Adam’s Farm Kitchen
Paul O’Grady: For the Love of Dogs 
Pound Shop Wars
The One Show
Top Gear
Who Do You Think You Are?


24: Live Another Day
Bad Education
Brooklyn Nine-Nine 
Celebrity Juice
Criminal Minds 
Don’t Tell the Bride
Family Guy
Game Of Thrones
Geordie Shore
Hawaii Five-0
Inspector Montalbano
Karl Pilkington: The Moaning Of Life
Life and Death Row
Made in Chelsea
Modern Family
The 100
The Blacklist
The Bridge
The Call Centre
The First Georgians: The German Kings Who Made Britain
The Only Way is Essex
The Walking Dead

Skills Challenge Show – New Category

Child Genius
Come Dine with Me
Dragons’ Den
Great British Menu
The Apprentice 
The Big Allotment Challenge
The Great British Bake Off
The Great British Sewing Bee
The Great Interior Design Challenge
The Island with Bear Grylls

Talent Show

Britain’s Got Talent
Got To Dance
Strictly Come Dancing
The Singer Takes It All 
The Voice UK
The X Factor 

TV Judge – New Category


Lord Sugar 
Alesha Dixon 
Amanda Holden 
Ashley Banjo
Bruno Tonioli 
Cheryl Fernandez-Versini 
Craig Revel Horwood 
Darcey Bussell 
David Walliams 
Deborah Meaden
John Torode & Gregg Wallace
Len Goodman 
Louis Walsh 
Mary Berry 
Mel B 
Paul Hollywood 
Peter Jones
Ricky Wilson 
Simon Cowell 
Sir Tom Jones