Check out these beautifully minimalist Doctor Who book covers

12 Doctors, 12 Stories features Doctor Who short stories from authors such as Eoin Colfer, Malorie Blackman and Neil Gaiman

Last year, to commemorate Doctor Who’s 50th anniversary, Puffin books commissioned eleven short stories by authors such as Malorie Blackman and Neil Gaiman – one story for each incarnation of the Doctor.


Now, though, the ebook shorts are being compiled as a box set of 11 separate paperbacks, with an extra 12th Doctor entry, written by The Spiderwick Chronicles’ Holly Black, thrown in to round off the set. As such, each Doctor has been given their own minimalist covers – and they’re beautiful. 

Check out all twelve below. 

A Big Hand For The Doctor, by Eoin Colfer (William Hartnell’s first Doctor)

The Nameless Cityby Michael Scott (Patrick Troughton’s second Doctor)

The Spear of Destiny, by Marcus Sedgwick (Jon Pertwee’s third Doctor)

The Roots of Evil by Philip Reeve (Tom Baker’s fourth Doctor)

Tip of the Tongue, by Patrick Ness (Peter Davidson’s fifth Doctor)

Something Borrowed, by Richelle Mead (Colin Baker’s sixth Doctor)

The Ripple Effect, by Malorie Blackman (Sylvester McCoy’s seventh Doctor)

Spore, by Alex Scarrow (Paul McGann’s eighth Doctor)

The Beast of Babylon, by Charlie Higson (Christopher Eccleston’s ninth Doctor)

The Mystery of the Haunted Cottage, by Derek Landy (David Tennant’s tenth Doctor)

Nothing O’Clock, by Neil Gaiman (Matt Smith’s eleventh Doctor)

And finally… Lights Out, by Holly Black(Peter Capaldi’s twelfth Doctor)


Doctor Who: 12 Doctors, 12 stories is released on 23rd October.