James Arthur narrowly beats Joe McElderry to be crowned best ever X Factor winner

The 2012 champion wins by just 11,000 votes after more than half a million are cast in RadioTimes.com poll


X Factor 2012 champion James Arthur says he is “thrilled” and “honoured” to have been crowned the best ever X Factor winner by RadioTimes.com readers in a poll that attracted more than half a million votes.


In an incredibly close contest, the You’re Nobody ‘Til Somebody Loves You singer beat 2009 winner Joe McElderry by just 11,000 votes in a contest that saw fans of the two singers lock horns in an incredible social media battle for victory. 

“I am so thrilled to have won this poll!” James Arthur said, speaking exclusively to RadioTimes.com. “A real honour and in no small part due to my incredible and loyal fans. My journey with X Factor has been well documented as a bumpy road, but I remain absolutely proud to have won the show and to have had and continue to have all the incredible experiences that taking part and winning has allowed me.”

In total 553,061 votes were cast in the contest that pitted all ten previous winners of the ITV singing contest against one another. Arthur eventually took 46.95% of the votes with McElderry coming in second with a very healthy 44.99%.

Both James Arthur and Joe McElderry themselves encouraged their fans to vote in the contest which raged on RadioTimes.com for 5 days from 30th August to 3rd September.   

James joined in the excitement, calling on his supporters to hit the vote button:

Whilst McElderry, joked that he felt like he was back on the show:

Matt Cardle, 2010’s winner, came third with 3.68% of the vote with the rest as follows:

4th place: 2013’s Sam Bailey – 1.72%

5th place: 2011’s Little Mix – 1.07%

6th place: 2006’s Leone Lewis – 0.84%

7th place: 2005’s Shayne Ward – 0.5%

8th place: 2007’s Leon Jackson – 0.1%

9th place: 2008’s Alexandra Burke – 0.09%

10th place: 2004’s Steve Brookstein – 0.07%


The new series of The X Factor continues this Saturday and Sunday at 8:00pm on ITV