Chiwetel Ejiofor battles David Tennant for Best Actor at Broadcasting Press Guild Awards

Bafta-winning 12 Years A Slave actor is up against the Broadchurch star for top gong, with Olivia Colman, Gillian Anderson and Maxine Peake up for Best Actress

Fresh from his Bafta success at this year’s awards, Chiwetel Ejiofor is going up against Broadchurch’s David Tennant for Best Actor at the 40th annual Broadcasting Press Guild Awards.


Can Ejiofor make it two out of two? The 12 Years A Slave actor is in the running for his part in BBC Two’s Dancing on the Edge. While Tennant’s role as DI Alec Hardy in Broadchurch, a role he’s currently reprising in an American remake, has landed him a spot on the short list. 

Southcliffe’s Rory Kinnear, Top of the Lake’s Peter Mullan are also in the running for the award, which is voted for by more than one hundred journalists in the TV, radio and media industry.

That’s not the only battle going on. Fellow Broadchurch star Olivia Colman has stiff competition from The Fall’s Gillian Anderson, as well as Top of the Lake’s Elizabeth Moss and The Village’s Maxine Peake.

This year’s Breakthrough Award also sees The Fall – and soon to be Fifty Shades of Grey – star Jamie Dornan battle it out against Sharon Rooney (My Mad Fat Diary) and BT Sport for its successful launch of a challenger TV brand.

Broadchurch could certainly have a big night, with writer Chris Chibnall also up for an award. Plus Channel 4’s ambitious Gogglebox project has earned them two nominations in factual entertainment and innovative programme format.

The awards are sponsored by the Discovery Channel and results will be available on next month.

See the full list of TV nominees here:

Best Single Drama

Black Mirror: Be Right Back (Channel 4)
Burton and Taylor (BBC Four)
The Wipers Times (BBC Two)

Best Drama Series

Broadchurch (ITV)
The Fall (BBC Two)                
Top of the Lake (BBC Two)

Best Single Documentary

Dogging Tales (Channel 4)    
The Murder Trial (Channel 4)            
Richard III: The King in the Car Park (Channel 4)
Syria: Across the Lines (Channel 4)

Best Documentary Series

The Call Centre (BBC Three)
Educating Yorkshire (Channel 4)
The Story of the Jews (BBC Two)    

Best Entertainment/Comedy

Ambassadors (BBC Two)                  
Fresh Meat (Channel 4)
Strictly Come Dancing (BBC One)                            
Toast (Channel 4)                             

Best Multichannel Programme

Crackanory (Dave)     
Shaun Ryder on UFOs (History)
The Tunnel (Sky Atlantic)
Yonderland (Sky 1)                

Best Factual Entertainment

Gogglebox (Channel 4)
Paul O’Grady: For the Love of Dogs (ITV)
The Great British Bake Off, series 4 (BBC Two)      

Best Actor

Chiwetel Ejiofor – Dancing on the Edge (BBC Two)
Rory Kinnear – Southcliffe (Channel 4)                                 
Peter Mullan – Top of the Lake (BBC Two)  
David Tennant – Broadchurch (ITV)             

Best Actress

Gillian Anderson – The Fall (BBC Two)
Olivia Colman – Broadchurch (ITV)   
Elizabeth Moss – Top of the Lake (BBC Two)          
Maxine Peake – The Village (BBC One)      

Best Writer

Jane Campion – Top of the Lake (BBC Two)           
Chris Chibnall – Broadchurch (ITV)
Allan Cubitt – The Fall (BBC Two)                
Sally Wainwright – Last Tango in Halifax (BBC One)           

Breakthrough Award

BT Sport (successful launch of a challenger TV brand)
Jamie Dornan (The Fall)
Sharon Rooney (My Mad Fat Diary)

Innovation Award

Gogglebox – for an innovative programme format
Netflix – for programming and distribution innovation
Sky Television – for 25 years of innovation